Slow and Steady Wins the Race

Let’s Begin. Again.

on January 18, 2012

Here I am again. Staring down at the scale and not happy with what I see. Looking in the mirror and seeing a squishy midsection and that skin that waves back and forth below the bicep. I hate that floppy skin under the arm. I am so tired of fighting this battle.

Yes, I had a baby and I knew that there would be work to do. I just didn’t think finding the motivation to start AGAIN would be this hard. Finding the time to run while working full time and raising two kids is not easy. I have excuses out the wazoo for not doing it at this time or that one.

I started running again when I got the green light after my 6 week check up. Then, my maternity leave ended and it all went to hell. I picked up the Ripped in 30 DVD to do SOMETHING to keep some sort of fitness. Christmas came along and destroyed that routine.

The excuses have to stop and I have to get started. So here I am. Committing again to getting healthy, not that I am particularly unhealthy at this point in time. But, I need to shed the baby weight. I am 15 pounds heavier than I was when I got pregnant with Cole. I was weighing around 160 when I got pregnant and now I am sitting at 175. I am not one of those people that loses weight while breastfeeding. That shiz isn’t going anywhere. I have to exercise it off. Every ounce.

I have printed out Jeff Galloway’s Half Marathon Training plan. I haven’t picked a goal race yet, but I will. I want to run at least 2 this year. I know one I want to run is the OBX Half and I am hoping I can get my husband to run that one with me.

Here we go. Again.

Keep me accountable internet.

3 responses to “Let’s Begin. Again.

  1. gabrielle says:

    You can totally do it! I’m in the same boat, and I don’t even have a baby to blame! 🙂 I’ve been thinking about this half:

    http://www.halfmarathons.net/usa_half_marathons_north_carolina_inside_out_sports_classic_half_marathon.html

    It’s nearby, reasonably priced, and not until May 22, so there’s a good amount of time to train.

  2. Jenna says:

    Ugh, I hate that stuff under the arm too. I mean really what is it for? I can understand the midsection stuff keeping you warm but the loose extra fat/skin under the arm does nothing but wave with you as you wave to a friend! I’ve started going to the gym 4 or more times a week and on my off days I feel like a lazy fat slob. It’s weird how once you get in the mindset your in go mode but getting to go mode is really hard. It took several months to get me there. I would always have an excuse, I was sick, I was tired, I had to cook/clean. Now I still have the excuses but they don’t keep me out of the gym. I am so much happier when I am working out on a regular basis. Now my problem is working out has made my knees start hurting again. The whole first excuse I always use, and the reason I just don’t run. I hope to start physical therapy soon and strengthen the muscles so I can continue. The doc seems to think it’s my super high arches causing a lot of the problem so I am off to find the correct supportive shoes and shoe inserts. You’ll get there Ann, I know you can! Go mode is there waiting for you!

Leave a Reply

