Slow and Steady Wins the Race

4 months old

on December 15, 2011

 

It seems like Cole has always been a part of our family now. We have all adjusted and I am starting find my rhythm as a working mom. There are still plenty of hard days. Especially the ones where I come home and Cole has already gone to sleep and doesn’t really wake up except to eat. I barely get to interact with him on those days. It makes me sad.

The days I don’t want to keep pumping at work are the ones I come home to find him asleep and our bonding time is the nursing sessions I get in the evening or late at night. Then, I don’t want to give it up. I want to hold onto those precious moments when it is just the two of us for as long as I can.

Cole’s personality is starting to blossom. He loves to talk to you. Loudly.

He can probably see that having Ian as an older brother means he must find his voice quickly or be drowned out by all of Ian’s talking.

Cole is thinking about rolling over, but hasn’t quite figured out how to do it yet. He definitely seems like he wants to master back to tummy first so he can sleep on his tummy. Right now he is a side sleeper, but desperately wants to become a stomach sleeper. Ian was a stomach sleeper and was a much happier baby when he could get there on his own.

The thumb is starting to be favored over his paci. I am not a fan of this development. I can take the paci away. The thumb. I can’t.

The center tooth on his bottom left is just below the surface. I am shocked by this since Ian didn’t get his first tooth until he was 7 or 8 months old. I wonder how long it will take to bust through.

Since starting daycare, Cole has become the favorite in the baby room. He is such a relaxed baby that loves to sit and watch. All the teachers are amazed at how he just hangs out and rarely cries unless he needs something.

We have had some bumps in the sleep department. For a while it was going great. He went to sleep around 8 or 9 and woke up once at 4am to eat and then went back to sleep until 7. After I went back to work, that stopped and we are back to several night wakings. Probably his way of getting in some Mommy time. Mama is tired though. My brain is turning to mush. Still I think Cole sleeps a million times better than Ian ever did. So, I am counting my lucky stars.

4 month stats:
Weight – 12 lbs 12ozs
Height – 24 inches (grown 5.5 inches since birth!!)
Growing out of most of the 3 month size clothing and starting to move into 6 month sizes.

6 responses to “4 months old

  1. mannel inc says:

    oh my gosh look at those chubby little arms! so so so cute. Great post, I feel that sentiment about getting into a groove and holding onto those moments that will quickly pass. I was thinking just yesterday that there are 2 pieces of wisdom that I have found to be very very true…and one of them was yours. 1. (yours) it doesn’t get easier, it just gets hard in a different way and 2. the days are long but the years are short. We just went through a night of very late work and a LO with a stomach bug. I was in the bathtub at 2am and now I am cruising the web at 8 am…my brain’s a little mushy, too. Hang in there. JPM

  2. mannel inc says:

    ps he looks so much like Ian. But, duh…they’re brothers! JPM

    • Ann says:

      Some people say they look like twins. It amazes me how much they look alike. I figured they would share a lot of traits, but not nearly as many as they actually do!

  3. Karl says:

    So adorable, your photography has gotten really good too!

  4. Jenna says:

    4 mths… it’s not possible! Time is going by to quickly! I wish daycare was dropping him off at Jenna’s house! I want to squeeze him! 🙂 Izaiah is waking early now to climb in bed with me. I’m just to tired to say no so at about 5:30 or 6am he jumps in bed with me till we are ready to start the day. We are battling the potty training again and it has been super easy this time. One accident so far and tomorrow is day 3! He is so much easier now that he is talking and telling me. I don’t think he had the words before to explain when he had to pee and now he has no problem screaming, “Mommy, mommy.. pee pee NOW!” lol I have a hard time not laughing at him! I got teary thinking about you feeling like you miss out on some time bonding with Cole when he is asleep when you come home. I have been so lucky that I never missed a minute of it. Although there were times I recall feeling like it’s someone else’s turn tonight cause I’m exhausted! It is so crazy to look back at when we arrived in Okinawa and Izaiah was only 5 mths. He turns 3 Feb 8th and we leave in a year and a half from now! Woo hoo! Don’t let the kids grow up to much in that time! I’ll try to keep mine from getting any bigger. By the way, Alexis will be 18 well almost 18 the next time you get to see her in person…. isn’t that crazy! I’m still going crazy that she turns 17 this July! Ugh… time goes by way to fast! Hug and kiss all your boys from us!

  5. You do not have to devote hours at the fitness center or exert so
    substantially work and energy in performing function out just to be
    able to tone your muscle tissues.

Leave a Reply

