Slow and Steady Wins the Race

The Pump

on November 21, 2011

When I was pregnant with Ian I read everything I could on the subject of pregnancy, labor and breastfeeding. I had visions of an unmedicated birth, the perfect breastfeeding relationship that would last until he was at least 1 and since I read everything under the sun about it, there would be no problems. The joys of being a first time mom before reality slaps you across the face.

His birth wasn’t unmedicated, but honestly I was okay with that in the end. We didn’t make it to a year with breastfeeding, but came pretty close by going 8 months before my body gave up. I was happy I got as far as I did. I tried everything I could near the end to increase my supply. When you are a pumping mom though it can be very difficult.

With Cole I just wanted him to be born healthy. I didn’t have a vision of how that would happen. I knew better. The pregnancy was a clue that this one was not in my hands.

Breastfeeding this time around is also different. I honestly just want to make it to 6 months. I know from previous experience how much I hate pumping. I feel like I would be cheating Cole out of something Ian got if I just gave up so easily though. I can thank Mommy Guilt for that.

Then, I remember to be thankful that I can provide him with breast milk.

Thankful because Cole didn’t get Hand, Foot and Mouth Disease when Ian had it because I was breastfeeding.

Thankful that when Cole got Croup it wasn’t nearly as bad as it could have been because he is breastfeeding.

I also try very hard to be grateful that my body will respond to the pump when I know other women are not as fortunate. I have to be grateful that I can pump and we don’t have to buy formula which is so expensive.

I am trying very hard to remember these things twice a day, five days a week. Pumping sucks, but I am damn lucky I can do it.

Leave a Reply

