Slow and Steady Wins the Race

The Big 5

on November 14, 2011

When did this happen? My baby is 5 years old.

Soon we will be looking at Kindergarten. Just thinking about it puts a lump in my throat. Five seems old to me and yet it is still so young.

It seems just yesterday he was a little thing that could sleep on my chest. Now he is riding big rides at the fair that nearly give me a heart attack and he wants to do things without our help or supervision. He readily runs off with barely a backward glance to do things on his own. I am proud that he feels confident to tackle the world on his own. A mother always wants to feel a little bit needed though.

One week old

1 year old

2 years old

3 years old

4 years old

5 years old

We have our battles. He still has to test his boundaries constantly. We have to practice being consistent. But, he is a sweet, smart and very loving boy. I hear many unprompted I love you’s and they make my heart swell.

Watching him interact with his little brother has been amazing. I can see the love he has for his sibling and Cole loves to watch his big brother. I have hope that they will be the best of friends.

Some of Ian’s favorite things: Watching movies (Toy Story 3 and The Lion King are on a never ending loop it seems), riding his scooter or tricycle, playing board games with mommy and daddy, snuggling on the couch, the color blue, fruit of any kind and his Papa and Vivi.

Height – 41 inches
Weight – 36 pounds

One response to “The Big 5

  1. mannel inc says:

    Wow. Doesn’t seem like long ago we stopped to see this new baby and I got to hold him in my arms. Happy Birthday Ian!!!!

Leave a Reply

