Slow and Steady Wins the Race

Week In My Life – Friday, Saturday and Sunday

on October 17, 2011

As the week went on last week, the less energy I had. I tried to keep up with documenting what was going on, but my brain just wasn’t keeping up. I will hit the highlights.

Friday

Friday morning Ian had an appointment with his physical therapist. Ian has walked on his toes almost since he started walking. We have watched it over the years with his Pediatrician and at his 4 year well check we were referred to a Pediatric PT. It took me a while to get around to making the appointments since my pregnancy with Cole was so complicated. Anyway, at the appointment we got Ian’s leg braces to stop him from toe walking. He will have to wear them for about 6 months. He calls them his Spiderman boots.

After we picked up his braces we had to hit Stride Rite to buy some new shoes for him to wear with his braces. What I didn’t know until we got them is that he has to wear shoes with them at all times. And he is supposed to wear them whenever he is awake. He doesn’t wear them full time right away, we work up to that. However, I see many battles happening since as soon as he gets home from school he strips his shoes and socks off.

When we got to Stride Rite they were a little busy, so we had to wait for someone to help us. We didn’t wait long though and I only had to tell Ian to put shoes back that he picked up twice. There were some Star Wars theme ones on display that he gravitated towards immediately. We found a pair of shoes that worked on his braces on the first try. The shoes are 2 sizes bigger than his regular shoes though to accommodate the braces and look humongous on his feet.

Once we finished up with shoe shopping we hit a McDonald’s drive thru on the way home for lunch. When we got home I was pretty much done with outings with two kids alone for the day.

Saturday

I woke up to a nice surprise Saturday morning. My first birthday gift, a day early.

This was a gift from my Dad and Stepmom. The stones are the birthstones of my two boys. Ian’s is Citrine and Cole’s is Peridot.

The rest of Saturday was spent cleaning the house and playing in the yard since it was such a beautiful day. Here is where I failed to remember to pick up the camera. I should have pictures of Ian playing on his playset, helping me brush the dog and playing on his rocking horse. But I don’t. So let’s pretend there are pictures here of those things. Cole happily watched the action from his bouncy seat in the shade of the patio umbrella. The rest of the day was just as low key.

Sunday

My 35th birthday and the day that Jack came home from Ohio. Hallelujah, help with the kids.

Jack’s flight arrived at 9:45 in the morning, so right after we got out of bed we started getting dressed and ready to pick him up from the airport. Once we retrieved him and got home we spent the morning relaxing and I let Jack nap a bit since he had to get up at 4 in the morning to catch his flight home.

In the afternoon I took the opportunity to get out without two kids in tow and went to Dick’s Sporting Goods to get some new socks for Ian. He needed tube socks that would go underneath his leg braces. I also stopped by Cold Stone to pick up a birthday cake or 3 for myself.

I totally deserved 3 birthday cakes and they were delicious. One was strawberry ice cream with red velvet cake, one was chocolate cake with chocolate ice cream and the last was cookies and cream ice cream with chocolate cake. I was nice and shared with my family.

Since I hadn’t had the chance to run all week long I went for a run when I was done shopping. The run was, in a word, sucktastic. It was hot and I felt sluggish. The thing about running though is that even if it sucks when you are doing it, you always feel good when you are done. I am still ridiculously slow. I have to keep reminding myself that I had a baby 2 months ago and had major abdominal surgery to get that baby out.

My husband was sweet and went out got me a Chipotle burrito the size of my head for my birthday dinner. Something I only get every now and then because I can’t help but eat the WHOLE thing. He also made a side stop and got me a little birthday gift. A remote for my Nikon! He saw one of my tweets about needing one and picked one up when he went out to get me dinner. We spent the rest of night flopped on the couches since we had indulged in so much food!

Final Thoughts

This documenting thing was HARD work. Next time I do it I need to take more pictures and carry my camera around with me. I think it would be easier to remember to document if my husband had been home. My brain was more focused on the kids and surviving the week alone than anything else. I am so happy that I was able to capture some of week. It will be nice to look back on this next year after Cole and Ian have grown so much more.

Thanks to Melissa at Adventuroo for the push to give this a try!

4 responses to “Week In My Life – Friday, Saturday and Sunday

  1. Eve says:

    I had my birthday on Saturday. Happy Belated Birthday!! You’re right, this was hard work. But at the same time, it was fun and we gained oodles of great memories!

  2. First: Happy Birthday!!! I’m sorry I’m late.
    Second: I can’t believe you found time to document your life this way. Very impressive, my friend.
    Third: Even MORE impressive? You’re running! After a complicated childbirth experience just eight weeks ago. I can barely run to the fridge.

    I BOW DOWN.

    🙂

  3. Jenna says:

    35 already! I remember us both freaking out about turning 30, you laughing at me because you still had another year till you turned 30. I can’t believe another 5 years has flown by. Sounds like you had a great B-day. Wish I could have been there for an extra set of hands while Jack was gone. Miss you all terribly and hope this last 19 months left over here flies by!

  4. Jenna says:

    P.S.- you look fantastic for just having a baby 2 months ago!

Leave a Reply

