Slow and Steady Wins the Race

35 Weeks

on July 15, 2011

The pregnancy rollercoaster continues. After the last ultrasound where we heard that peanut had jumped into the 9th percentile for weight I felt like we were on the upswing. I had high hopes that we would go to the next ultrasound and hear that he had gained well again and was growing by leaps and bounds.

My hopes were dashed.

Yesterday we found out that he has fallen to the 5th percentile. If he went back to the 6th percentile I would feel comfortable saying that the last ultrasound was overestimated. But, since he fell below his previous 6% there is a concern that he is falling off his growth curve. His weight was estimated at 4lbs 7ozs yesterday. I know that these estimates can vary and I am hoping little dude is going to be bigger than they think, but there is also the possibility that he is smaller than estimated.

There is a light at the end of this tunnel though! The positives in this situation are that I am *this close* to being full term. Even if we find at the next ultrasound that he has stopped growing or has fallen further off his curve and we need to deliver, I will be full term at that point. Lung maturity shouldn’t be an issue and hopefully neither will eating. I can see how maybe regulating his temperature could be a concern if he is a little thing, but that is a hurdle that can be overcome with some good old eating and gaining weight.

When I got to the end of my pregnancy with Ian I remember feeling uncomfortable, but I hadn’t really reached a point of being sick of being pregnant. I wish I could say the same this time around, but I am also trying very hard to remember that I won’t be doing this again. Feeling baby kicks and rolls is still pretty awesome, even when they hurt. I can live without the horrible acid reflux making sleeping near impossible and the constant back pain that has entered the picture. I know that both of those things will go away when the baby is born. The temporary discomfort is worth it.

We still haven’t picked a name and I just can’t bring myself to decide on one until I see his little face. We have a list and I really hope that one of the names on it will fit. Maybe I should pack my baby name book just in case…

The nursery still needs a few things and I hope we can get that finished this weekend. Once we have it near completion I will take some pictures (with the good camera).

Almost to the finish line! This pregnancy has felt a lot like a marathon…just keep putting one foot in front of the other.

 

 

 

 

 

3 responses to “35 Weeks

  1. Karl Tyer says:

    Almost there! Just don’t name him Snape.. 🙂

  2. Sarah says:

    You are almost there. I will continue to pray for you both.

  3. Janet says:

    Hey Hang in there! You’re in the final stretch. You look great. At first glance of your preggo photos I always think why is she drinking in her pictures? But then, oh, wait, it’s your phone. No fancy pants phone here. Anyways, you just look like you have a big ol basketball under your shirt.
    I find myself anxiously checking your page in case you have a “childbirth is beginning” tweet. Two names that I don’t think you should name him…wait a minute, I’ll text you that so I decrease the chance of offending anyone. JPM

Leave a Reply

