Slow and Steady Wins the Race

The Weight is Lifting – 33 weeks

on June 30, 2011

We had our growth ultrasound yesterday to check on the little peanut. Going into the appointment I was having a lot of anxiety about the results. I knew I hadn’t gained any weight over the past two weeks since our last appointment. Most anything you read about growth restricted babies will say that poor maternal weight gain is part of the problem. I thought I was failing at doing what I was supposed to be doing. It is not for lack of trying, that is for sure.

During the appointment I was watching all the measurements. While the Doctor takes them the screen shows the estimated gestational age for that measurement. So when he measures the head it will say something like 31weeks8days, for example. This little guy has consistently measured a couple weeks behind with his abdomen and femur, but his head has usually been pretty close to dates. Yesterday the abdomen and head were looking great, still behind, but not falling further behind and his femur was looking better than it looked at any previous appointment. I held my breath waiting for the weight estimate and his percentile.

He moved from the 6th percentile into the 9th percentile!

AND gained a pound in the past two weeks! He is estimated at 3lbs15oz right now. Weight estimates via ultrasound are known to be inaccurate, so he could be up to 1.5 pounds bigger or smaller than the estimate. The focus is on the fact that he continues to grow at a normal rate and looks healthy.

Sweet relief.

The Doc also did a Doppler flow study of the umbilical cord yesterday to check blood flow from the placenta. He said it all looked normal. That information leads him to believe that our little guy is little because he is constitutionally small and not because the placenta isn’t functioning correctly. I have read some studies that said that 70% of babies that are put in the category of IUGR are constitutionally small and not truly growth restricted. The only way for Doctors to know whether or not a baby is growth restricted or just constitutionally small is after delivery. So, they really have to operate with the approach that a baby is growth restricted to make sure the baby’s health is not compromised.

Some of my fear about labor and delivery is starting to fall away. I have been scared to death that he would have to be delivered early and that it would have to be via c-section. I know that this labor is still going to have be very different than Ian’s. I will have to be on the monitors the entire time I am in labor, but I am hopeful now that I can go into labor on my own and that maybe this time I can do it unmedicated. No matter how he enters the world, if he is healthy and I am too, it will be a success.

2 responses to “The Weight is Lifting – 33 weeks

  1. Sarah says:

    Glad he is doing well. I will continue to pray for you both.

  2. Suzanne says:

    Amen! So glad for this good news. Can’t wait to meet the peanut (after 36 weeks, of course). 🙂

Leave a Reply

