Slow and Steady Wins the Race

29 Weeks

on May 31, 2011

You know what is difficult…taking a picture of yourself that you are willing to use. Here is my best iPhone shot of the 20 or so that I took trying not to cut off my head in the picture. Also, trying not to have a funny look on my face (that one didn’t work out so well).

We had an ultrasound today with the Perinatologist to check on growth and organ function. I did not get the news I was hoping for, that everything looked perfect. We did get good news, the baby looks healthy. The news I did not want to hear is that the baby is looking small. The baby is measuring in the 6th percentile. The Doctor said anything under 10% is a concern and 5% and under is very concerning. We are still in the concerned category. The other side of this coin is I have a boy already that has been on the small side of the growth charts. Maybe we just make small kids and this isn’t related to the SUA. Funny since I am 5’10”. The Doctor isn’t ready to say he is just built that way yet. He wants to watch even more closely and do an ultrasound sooner than the 32 week one I was expecting. I will be going back at almost 31 weeks for another look.

I haven’t heard the term IUGR yet and I am hopeful our next ultrasound shows normal growth for our baby. Whatever his normal is. Still the important part is he is healthy and I will listen for those words at each appointment. Any grow baby, grow thoughts you can send our way are appreciated.

4 responses to “29 Weeks

  1. Grow, baby, grow! Sending *hugs* and healthy, prayerful thoughts from Orlando, friend! You look great! 🙂

  2. Janet says:

    This makes me smile big! Thank you for posting this photo – I have been trying to picture you in my mind’s eye and you look great just as I thought. Grow baby grow!

  3. Sarah says:

    I will be praying for you all. Grow baby, grow. I am glad your baby is healthy. I have been thinking about you.

  4. Jenna says:

    Finally a photo! I didn’t think to check your blog till today! You know I can’t see you so this makes me happy! Sorry to hear that the results weren’t what you wanted to here but I’m sure your comforted by the fact that they want to keep a close eye on you. That can’t be a bad thing! Sometimes I wonder if modern medicine tells us to much. If we didn’t have all the technology we have today you would just go on with your pregnancy not knowing any different until the baby arrived. I was once told that all babies grow at the same rate until they reach 10 weeks, after that they all grow completely different! So tell that little man in there Jenna said get busy growing! I really wish I was closer right now! I am having a hard time thinking of spending the summer here again with no chance of going to the States or seeing family/friends! I have considered trying to Space a to CA, or AK and trying to get tickets from there but you still have to have money to fly. We have so much going on with the cars that we don’t have an extra penny right now! I really miss you so keep the pic’s coming and no worries about the silly faces. I’m just happy to see your face! Miss you ssooooo much! Love, Jenna

Leave a Reply

