Slow and Steady Wins the Race

Garden King

on March 10, 2011

Even at 4 years old, I find that sometimes I still have no idea what my kid is talking about. It’s not that I can’t understand the words that he is saying, I can. I just don’t understand what he is referring to. For example:

Last night I was having a conversation with Ian about a friend of his at preschool that will be going to a different school soon. Ian plays with this boy a lot and I thought I should prepare him a bit for the departure.

Me: Ian, your friend F is going to a different school soon. After this week you won’t see him at school anymore, but maybe we can have some playdates.

Ian: Is he going to Garden King?

Me (puzzled): What is Garden King?

Ian: You know Garden King! (throwing his hands out to the side for emphasis)

Me: Where is Garden King?

Ian (exasperated): You know, where the bus takes you! Garden King!

Me: OHHHHHH. No, honey, he isn’t going to KINDERGARTEN yet. He is just going to a new preschool.

Note to self: Garden King = Kindergarten.

Glad we got that straightened out.

2 responses to “Garden King

  1. gabrielle says:

    Adorable. 🙂 Sometimes I wish I was back in Garden King.

  2. Jenna says:

    Garden King… love it! Too cute!

Leave a Reply

