Slow and Steady Wins the Race

Capture the Everyday

on March 3, 2011

Melissa over at Adventuroo started a new photo challenge recently and has given some interesting assignments. Instead of picking up my Nikon this time around I thought it would be fun to play with Hipstamatic. It has been a while since I have used it and I forgot how much I love the results. While I love my Nikon, I had a hard time seeing how I could make the shot interesting without playing around a ton in PSE or Picnik. With Hipstamatic I get instant results!

This weeks challenge was – What’s on Your Nightstand

On my nightstand:

  • alarm clock
  • ugly lamp that I hate, but has been around since 1998
  • prenatal vitamins (only way I remember to take them is to have them in my face in the morning)
  • saline nose spray (still resting there from when I was sick for 3 weeks)
  • TV and DVD remote
  • drink coaster
  • kleenex
  • Ken Follet’s new book which is next on my list to read
  • a lot of dust (the amount of dust that collects in a matter of days in this house is incredible)

I hope some more people will join in the fun over at Adventuroo. This was definitely a great way to get me to think of how to make this shot different. Also, I needed to actually start taking pictures again. I have lost my mojo recently.

6 responses to “Capture the Everyday

  1. Alissa says:

    Love that you used Hipstamatic for your shot. We have the same box of tissues. Seems like a lot of us have been sick lately, glad you are on the mend.

  2. What a great idea to use Hipstamatic! I keep forgetting about that app now that I have Instagram. We have that same remote too.

    Also, sounds like you and I need to go lamp shopping!

  3. Lynne says:

    I would love if my nightstand was that clean! I love my Nikon too. It’s a shame that mine is a film camera. I need to upgrade my digital Sony Cybershot. Someday. And I’ve had my lamps for years too.

  4. Why is it that our bedrooms are the last to get decorated or revamped in the house? Our bedroom decor & accessories have always been on the bottom of our list, yet we spend most of our time in there! Here’s hoping you get a new lamp soon, although that one doesn’t look so bad 🙂

  5. I’m lovin the hipstamatic picture! Way too cool! I also like the lamp that you don’t like 🙂 Nice textured base.

  6. goldgirl says:

    Oooh Cool picture. Totally elevates your nightstand into something super cool

Leave a Reply

