Slow and Steady Wins the Race

Oh, the guilt

on March 1, 2011

One thing that no one can prepare you for is the guilt you will feel as a parent when you have to miss a milestone in your child’s life. You can talk to your friends and family about all the other things in parenthood and get a sense of what they might be like. But, the guilt. No one can prepare you for that feeling. It is indescribable.

I have felt it here and there with Ian, but nothing on the scale of what I experienced today. I am very lucky that my husband could be at home with him for the first 3 years of his life. I never felt like I missed anything then, because he was with his Dad. He has been in preschool/daycare for almost a year now and whenever there is an event or something the parents are invited to, I have always been able to attend. Today, I couldn’t.

The guilt steamrolled me after seeing all the other parents eager to watch their kids perform in the Pre-K play. It was Ian’s first play and I had to miss it. I wanted to stay so much that it physically hurt to walk out the door of his classroom.

I know this won’t be the last thing I have to miss. Being a two working parent household is hard and sometimes we have make a choice that just really sucks. Today was one of those days.

2 responses to “Oh, the guilt

  1. gabrielle says:

    Well, i know you know this, but I’ll say it anyway- we do the best we can with what we have! And no matter how important it is to you, he most likely will not remember it at all.

    That said- man, I know how much this sucks, and I’m so sorry. You are an awesome mommy, so try to cut yourself some slack. (I know how hard that is, too. 😉

  2. I’m a broken record (from our Twitter convo about this), but please try to tell yourself: I’m doing the best I can.

    You are an awesome mom, Ann! Don’t forget it.

Leave a Reply

