Slow and Steady Wins the Race

Pay It Forward Challenge

on January 4, 2011

2010 was a whirlwind of a year. For me it involved A LOT of training and I accomplished some major goals with my running. I ran my first Half Marathon AND Marathon!

Me!

Crazy. Right?

Remember when I had just started running and wanted to complete a 5K? I do and I still remember how hard running was back then. It is truly amazing what you can accomplish with determination and heart.

I wanted to run 500 miles in 2010. I am so very proud to say that I exceeded that goal. I ran 560.63 miles!

I cycled 140.80 miles and walked 13.02 miles. My total miles for all activity in 2010 was 714.45. That means that I will be donating $71.50 in honor of the Pay It Forward Challenge.

If you don’t remember what the Pay It Forward Challenge is you can read about it here. A short recap is that I chose an organization to donate .10 cents per mile of activity to for 2010. My chosen organization is The Parker Reese Foundation. I will be rounding up my donation from $71.50 to $100 just because I like round numbers. And more money to donate is always a good thing.

Now, I would like to ask my readers, family and friends for your help. Can you spare $5, $10 or $16 (It costs the Foundation $16 a day to run Parker’s house)? I don’t want to ask for a lot because I know these are tough times for many families. If you could skip one meal out this week or coffee from Starbucks and instead donate that money to The Parker Reese Foundation, I would be so grateful.

You will be helping families that are facing a diagnosis of congenital diaphragmatic hernia or CDH in their newborn or unborn baby. CDH is a hole in diaphragm that will allow the stomach, liver, intestines, spleen to move into the chest cavity. This will generally interfere with the development with one or both lungs of the baby. Sometimes the diagnosis comes while the baby is in utero, sometimes not. Families that are faced with CDH have many surgeries to tackle. The Parker Reese Foundation provides FREE housing to families that have a little one in the hospital in the Triangle area for treatment. This allows those families to be close to the hospital and have a home away from home while their child is receiving treatment. How awesome is that?

The Parker Reese Foundation also works to spread awareness and fund medical research. If a lot of people give just a little, it can make a BIG difference.

Thanks to anyone who takes a moment to donate. You are making a difference in someone’s life.

One response to “Pay It Forward Challenge

  1. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Rubbersoul, Rubbersoul. Rubbersoul said: Pay It Forward Challenge: http://wp.me/ppi1l-9s […]

Leave a Reply

