Slow and Steady Wins the Race

Burned Out

on December 9, 2010

My running ever since the marathon should be categorized more as my non-running post marathon. I can count on one hand the number of runs I have done since then. And those runs…sucked. I couldn’t find my rhythm, my breathing was off and I just didn’t really enjoy it, any of it. I think I can officially say I have hit burn out. I was getting there towards the end of my marathon training. The motivation to push further was fading very quickly. Now that I have accomplished my goal, it really is gone.

The record cold temperatures aren’t really helping me either. When I had a race to train for I always gritted my teeth and pushed on.

Now? Not so much.

I hate watching my endurance evaporate, but my mental state at this point just makes me shrug my shoulders at that thought. I haven’t been sitting on my butt doing nothing, I have been cross training on my recumbent bike, so there is that.

I don’t have the itch to run. It usually has kicked in by now. I probably just need to tough out some runs to get that “I love this feeling” back. I know it only takes ONE GOOD run to get the bug back in high gear. I really need that one good one right now.

Has anyone else lost that loving feeling with running after you accomplished a major goal? How did you find your spark again?

2 responses to “Burned Out

  1. Alisa says:

    Welcome to the club is all I can say to you. I too “lost that lovin’ feeling” for running after my marathon. The itch to do another one never came my way. I was happy with the one. I did take a break from long distance running after but I kept up with the 5ks and 10ks. I pretty much am content with those distances. Its just enough to keep me interested and I can work at improving my time/pace. I kinda get the urge to do a half every now and then but I know at even given time I can complete a smaller race. That keeps me motivated.

  2. Jenna says:

    I don’t think you need to worry. You’ll find your groove again! I don’t blame you though if it is cold outside. When it gets like that I just want to live in bed, under the covers!

Leave a Reply

