Slow and Steady Wins the Race

You Capture – What Inspires Me

on November 18, 2010

Photobucket

This past Sunday I ran my first marathon in the Outer Banks of North Carolina. It was very inspiring to see people of all shapes and sizes taking on the challenge of running or walking 26.2 miles. Despite what most people think, a marathoner is not a particular body type. A marathoner can look like anyone. They are different in one important way. They have heart and determination that is hard to come by.

While we were in the Outer Banks, we visited the Wright Brothers Memorial. My husband has worked in Aviation for almost 15 years now, so it was almost a requirement that we visit it. Also, I have lived in NC since 1980 and never been to the Outer Banks or any of the historical places there. Sad, I know. I was able to capture some pretty inspiring things at the memorial. I am always amazed by people who have a dream and do what it takes to make it a reality.

 

25 responses to “You Capture – What Inspires Me

  1. Beautiful shots, Ann! I especially love how you left the flag in color. So cool.

    And I love your thoughts on marathoners — all shapes and sizes. People to be admired, indeed. So proud of you!

  2. Brooke G says:

    Love all the B&W’s!

  3. donna says:

    love your shots. GREAT!

  4. Wonderful, I love the black and whites!

  5. Carrie says:

    Beautiful photos – the first is amazing! We went to the Outer Banks (and Kitty Hawk) a week after our honeymoon with my entire family some 10+ years ago. It was a fun time – until it started POURING rain! Good memories though! My husband also works in aviation, so it was a must-see for us as well. 🙂

  6. Ashley Sisk says:

    That second shot is seriously awesome!

  7. Colleen says:

    I’ve never been to the outer banks. Maybe I’ll have to check it out one of these days. Love the pictures!

  8. Joanne says:

    Gorgeous photos! Congrats on your run.

  9. What great shots! I love the second one!

  10. Melissa says:

    I LOVE these photos! The one with the flag has so much meaning which I adore.
    P.S. I see you are an HR professional and so I am! I love meeting others that work in our crazy line of work.

    • Ann says:

      Yay! Another HR pro! I love meeting others in this line of work too. Only others that have done it can truly understand how nutty it can be!

  11. Andrea says:

    The second shot is beautiful! Love these.

    • Ann says:

      Thanks! I saw so much potential with that sculpture. I wish I could have taken pictures of it for hours. My 4 year old wasn’t into that though.

  12. sarah says:

    Hey I live in NC too. I am only like an hour from wrights memorial. These are great photos. I haven’t gone there to take photos yet.

  13. Satakieli says:

    Great photos!

    “I am always amazed by people who have a dream and do what it takes to make it a reality.” – love this and totally agree!

Leave a Reply

