Slow and Steady Wins the Race

It’s The Perfect Time To PANIC

on November 11, 2010

I have been watching far too much Toy Story.

Moving on.

Sooo, today it kind of smacked me in the face. I am running a MARATHON on Sunday. What? How did this happen? Whose idea was this?

I haven’t put together a playlist for my iPod. I will probably forget to charge it anyway. I haven’t cleared space on my Garmin since it kept telling me it was almost out of lap memory. Again, will probably forget to charge it. I haven’t bought the Gu Chomps that I will need for fuel on race day. I haven’t bought a bigger fuel belt pouch like I was supposed to so I can carry all my fuel. I haven’t bought some throw away sweats to wear to the start. I haven’t decided what I am wearing on race day. So yeah, I am pretty much a mess.

Me.

The person who plans. And schedules. And makes lists.

I will probably have a panic attack tomorrow night. Or right now after typing that list.

Why did I think running 26 miles was a good idea?

Visualize the finish line. It will all be okay. I have trained HARD for this. I CAN do it!

Okay, that helped. A little.

Yes, I am scared to death. Can you tell?

12 responses to “It’s The Perfect Time To PANIC

  1. Robin says:

    Aaaawwwwhh!!! You’re going to be GREAT out there! (Just go get your list taken care of… pronto!) 🙂

    I’m so excited for you, and will be cheering from Orlando!!! We’ll be running 6.2 of your 26.2 this weekend, and you’ll be on my mind!

    *hugs* !!!!!!!

  2. Amy W says:

    I haven’t packed either. And my hip hurts. And I have my parents coming into town this weekend. GAH!

    • Ann says:

      The random aches and pains have been freaking me out! Can’t wait to have a celebratory beer with you at the finish line!

  3. Paige says:

    Hey! I was just stopping by to check out your blog b/c I saw you started following me on Twitter. Good luck at the race this weekend! I admire you for the training and the guts. I’m not a runner myself, but can appreciate the nerves you must be feeling!

  4. Tiina says:

    You’re going to kill it this weekend, so no worries! The first marathon is like none other! I’ll be sending positive vibes your way 🙂

  5. bobbi says:

    You sound EXACTLY like I felt before mine…you’ll do GREAT! Enjoy every second. Good luck!!!

  6. Lisa says:

    Good luck to you. Can’t wait to read al about it. You can do it!!!

  7. mannel inc says:

    Ann Can’t wait to read about your race Seems like today was perfect to run, assuming the weather is the same in this carolina as yours. Best wishes I know you are gonna do great!!!!! JPM

Leave a Reply

