Slow and Steady Wins the Race

Taper sucks

on October 27, 2010

I just don’t have a better way to put that.

If you don’t know what taper is, then here is a brief explanation. Taper is the weeks or days before the race where you cut back your mileage and let your muscles repair. Your body recovers from all the beatings you have been giving it during training. You focus on replenishing all your glycogen stores in preparation for the BIG DAY. The amount of time you taper varies based on the distance you are racing. The recommended time for a marathon is 3 weeks.

During taper your mind starts to make you think that you are getting sick, you have an injury or just plain haven’t trained enough. The last two are plaguing me right now, but I am sure the sickness one will get me about 2 days before the marathon.

I went for a run last night. For about 2 miles all I could think about was how my knees felt weird and the muscles were just pulling the wrong way. I had to find a way to get out of my constant body check and think about something else. My distraction was to focus on how my new shoes were causing all these problems. Stop the madness!

I am also eating as if I am still running 15+ miles a week. I am not. The scale is showing it. I need to start a bowl of ice cream AND cookie count.

Last week I was down to 157 pounds. This week I am back up to 161.

Taper sucks.

Leave a Reply

