Slow and Steady Wins the Race

You Capture – Animals

on October 14, 2010

Photobucket

We went to our family farm this past weekend for a little family reunion. My great grandparents and grandparents lived on this land and now my cousins live on it, but it is owned collectively by “the family” and I hope it stays in the family for generations to come. I have wonderful childhood memories of playing in the fields, fishing in the pond, eating scuppernong grapes straight off the vine and my grandmother blowing the car horn to tell us it was time to come in for supper. I was excited when the assignment for this week was animals since there are quite a few different animals on the farm. Unfortunately, I didn’t get a chance to walk around and shoot as much as I wanted too since I was so busy socializing. However, I did capture a few shots of the horses.

I learned a very important lesson on this day. Always check your ISO! Ugh.

I shot around 50 pictures with my ISO jacked up to 1600 because I just simply forgot to check it before shooting. I was caught up in aperture, shutter speed and exposure. Hopefully, I have learned my lesson.

I am going to show two edited photos and one SOOC (straight out of the camera). What do you think?

The last one is SOOC. And here is one more that doesn’t have animals in it, but I loved it.

10 responses to “You Capture – Animals

  1. Jessi says:

    They still turned out gorgeous, regardless of the high ISO! I love them!! I love the edited ones a lot!

  2. Colleen says:

    I love the first shot with the shadows.

  3. I really like the first one!

  4. beautiful. Love your perspective on the first one.

  5. Elizabeth says:

    I think they are all incredibly beautiful. Love that first one and the last one is lovely.

  6. michelewhitacrephotography says:

    They are beautiful. I love the first one and the last one!

  7. Zoe says:

    I love the first shot, the horses are stunning!

  8. Robin says:

    OMG! My fave is the barn. They are all stunning, though, in spite of camera issues. 🙂

    Thanks for your thoughts this week on the slower runners post. Touched a lot of places for people, it seems.

    *hugs*

  9. Teresa says:

    Those are all great pictures. Personally, I only do SOOC. I love that first one of the horses in a line.

    Mine is here. http://razzamadazzle.wordpress.com/2010/10/14/pets/

  10. Stillmary says:

    I got way behind on looking at everybody’s You Capture photos and when I come to a post like yours, I’m so glad that I’m going back and catching up. I love horses and I love your horse photos. Sorry about your ISO but to my amateur eyes, the photos are fabulous. I especially love the close-ups. And the barn picture is stunning!

Leave a Reply

