Slow and Steady Wins the Race

You Capture – Faces

on October 7, 2010

Photobucket

This week I have been looking around for some basic photography info and trying to break away from the Auto settings on my camera. I have fallen in love with the blog Ramblings and Photos and Ashley links to tons of sites with more information than my brain can handle. Today though I stumbled upon one of her links to another blog, The Exposed Mom, that links to another site, Two Peas in a Bucket, that has a 12 weeks to better photography class and it is just what I needed (I know that was a lot of links to links, sorry). The first week is to focus on learning what effect different aperture settings have on your photos.

I have a hard time remembering all of the information thrown at me when it comes to photography. It all seems so overwhelming. I was having a hard time remembering what a high f/stop meant vs. a low f/stop. Focusing on just that setting and taking pictures playing with it is cementing that info in my head (I hope). Learning the different major settings (aperture, ISO and shutter speed) independently and then putting them all together is a good step for me. I think of it like different aspects of math (subtraction, addition, multiplication) in that you need to learn them one by one to really get the info to stick. That is just how my brain works.

When I went out to take pictures of faces this week I played around with aperture at the same time. I liked the faces challenge because I tried to get creative with what faces I shot. Let me know what you think! I had fun playing with light too. All of my photos were edited in Picnik.

13 responses to “You Capture – Faces

  1. Wayne says:

    Awesome work, Ann. My two favs are the ones with Ian and Hunter in the room with the sunlight casting through the window shades.

  2. Brooke G says:

    Such sweet faces!! I love the lighting in that last one – very dramatic!

  3. Carrie says:

    Lots of good faces, but I’m a sucker for that first dog shot.

  4. Tara says:

    You did great!! Love the first two…adorable!

  5. Jenny says:

    Great job girl, love the first one! Thanks for stopping by 🙂

  6. Debra says:

    Excellent shots Ann! I’m off to check out the links you shared. 🙂

  7. janet says:

    yep, that’s what it takes…a good camera. Great photos Ann.

  8. suzanne says:

    Love these! Especially that first shot of T-dawg. You’re very talented, Ann!

    • Ann says:

      You are making me blush! Thank you! Working on figuring this photography thing out. Thanks for turning me onto You Capture. It is a great way to keep shooting and vary my subjects.

  9. Amanda says:

    What great faces. My husband and I have two yellow labs so I’m partial to them. 🙂 I’ve never heard of Capture but will have to check it out as I enjoy photography. I stumbled across your blog by searching for posts with the “photography” tag.

Leave a Reply

