Slow and Steady Wins the Race

Not Yet

on September 16, 2010

In the mornings when it is time to wake up and prepare for the day ahead I always linger in bed just a little too long because I have a cute 3 year old that still likes to snuggle. He has either just stumbled into the room with his “two blankets” or snuck into the bed with us in the middle of the night.  When I ask for a cuddle he happily scoots his little body over and tucks into mine like a key fitting into a lock.  Inevitably he will ask, “Where’s Daddy?”, and I will tell him that Daddy is at work.  I revel in these moments when it’s just the two of us and think back to the times when he was a baby and would fit in the crook of my arm.  Now he likes to rub his feet on my knees.

When I finally manage to drag myself out of bed and start getting ready for work the hectic routine of dressing, brushing and gathering of stuff begins.  We usually manage to get out the door and off to school with minimal drama.  Ian is always excited to see his friends.  However, he has recently started to cling to me when we walk in his classroom door.  He wants to be held and then I have to sit with him while he has the breakfast that I packed for him.  When we are sitting and he has finally moved from my lap to his own chair, I ask, “Can Mommy go to work yet?” And the first few times I ask, he always says, “Not yet.”

When you are an introvert (I am and I am starting to think he is too) it takes time to transition from that point of in your shell to poking your head out to face the world.  I always wait for him to give me the all clear before I leave.  I don’t want him to ever feel like he is being forced out of his shell.  I don’t see any good coming from that.

I love that he tells me, not yet.  It makes me feel needed, but at the same time when I do leave, I know he will be okay.  He is just warming up to the world and will get out there when he is good and ready.

I hear ya buddy.  There are lots of days when I say, Not Yet, too.

Leave a Reply

