Slow and Steady Wins the Race

From baby to boyhood

on August 30, 2010

Ian - 10 days old

When I am putting away things Ian has outgrown or no longer uses I find that certain objects tug at the heartstrings more than others.  Putting away clothes has been a task that makes me think about how big he has gotten, but that never hit me the way one particular object did this past weekend.  I was cleaning up his room to prepare for guests to arrive since they would be sleeping in there.  I cleaned up his bookshelf and arranged his stuffed animals.  I was wiping off his dresser and picked up the foam changing pad that has been there since before he was born.  It was then that I realized he didn’t need that anymore.

He is potty trained.

We don’t gently lay him on that changing pad anymore to tickle his toes or do some crazy dance to make him laugh.  We don’t lay him there to give him zerberts on his tummy and listen to him go wild with laughter.  Gone are the moments when he would pee on me the second I took off his diaper.

He is no longer a baby.  He is most definitely a little boy now.

Until now, the foam changing pad is the one object I haven’t been able to pack away.  It is a symbol of his babyhood to me.  I wasn’t prepared to close the chapter on his baby years.

There are other markers of his journey from baby to boyhood:

  • I used to be Mama.  Now I am Mommy.  I know all too quickly I will become Mom.
  • I used to do everything for him.  Then I would help him do it.  Now he wants to do everything all by himself.
  • Curious George was his favorite character.  Now it is all about Star Wars or Superheroes.
  • Giving me a kiss in front of his friends at preschool has already become an embarrassing moment for him.

I just want to press pause on the world and hold onto the little boy who is in such a hurry to become a young man. I am proud that he is such an independent kid, but sometimes a Mama just needs to feel needed.

Ian - 3.5 years old

7 responses to “From baby to boyhood

  1. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Rubbersoul, Rubbersoul. Rubbersoul said: From baby to boyhood: http://wp.me/ppi1l-6s […]

  2. Laurie says:

    Oh, you totally brought tears to my eyes. What sweet pictures and such a sweet post. I was just thinking today how sad I am that my kids are growing so fast, there are so many moments I would love to freeze in time. 🙂

  3. Such a beautiful post! I felt the same way about Big Roo and I’m noticing the little things this time around too, wondering how long I’m going to use something because it goes in the yard sale pile.

    Cute little guy- we need to get together since our boys are the same age!

  4. This post made me cry! SO true. Every single word.

  5. Beautiful post! Just in the (nearly) year we’ve been following each others’ blogs, I’ve watched Ian change in your posts/photos. How fast they grow! Sending you *hugs* from Orlando, ‘Mama!’

  6. Ann says:

    Thank you for the comments, Melissa, Suzanne and Robin. I woud reply to you individually, but my blog is broken :(.

    Melissa – I would love to meet up sometime! Our boys have a lot in common and would probably have a blast together!

Leave a Reply

