Slow and Steady Wins the Race

Taking the plunge

on August 20, 2010

Hero

It’s official.  I have registered for the OBX marathon.  It is funny how you can start your training program and put in some really long runs, but you don’t feel the pressure of the race until you plunk down your money.  I usually like to wait until the last possible moment to register, but I know how popular the marathon is getting and I didn’t want to lose out on a spot.  That has happened before.  I was going to run the American Tobacco Trail half marathon earlier this year, but when I went to register.  FULL.  Nothing worse than doing all that training and your desired race is FULL!

I also wait until the last-minute because my body has this habit of getting injured right before a race.  The sucky thing about OBX is they don’t defer registrations.  If I can’t run in November, I am out the $100.  I am going to try to look at this way though.  I will need to train smart.  I need to listen to my body and do what it tells me if I feel even the slightest inkling that something is about crap out on me.  Yes, I should be doing that anyway, but I don’t want to lose my money or ALL the training I have put in to this.

I will continue freaking out now and you can continue on with your day.  I am going to keep visualizing this:

Crystal Coast Half Marathon

The sense of accomplishment was overwhelming.  I can’t wait to have that feeling again after 26.2!

4 responses to “Taking the plunge

  1. Andrea says:

    OMG! Wow. That is amazing! A bloggy friend of mine is doing the NYC marathon this coming November and I am in ABSOLUTE AWE.

    Good luck prepping, and congrats on signing up. Very cool! 🙂

  2. Anne says:

    Congrats on taking the big step!! I hope to complete my first marathon in Niagara Falls this October 24th…and although I just came off a knee injury (nothing too serious)…I’m doing better now and still hoping I can do it. We can only hope things work out…but, I tell you, having already registered is definitely a great motivator 🙂

  3. Ann — You are going to ROCK that marathon. Can’t wait to see the finish line photo!

  4. Wow! You are training smart, planning smart, and now you are registered. Yikes! Congrats on taking that next step. I’d be freaking out, too! But… you will ROCK it!!

Leave a Reply

