Slow and Steady Wins the Race

Mountain weekend for the 4th of July

on July 14, 2010

My Dad and Step-mom have a house up in the mountains.  In Blowing Rock to be exact.  Since I am an App State grad I was so happy when they bought the place since it meant I could go up and visit MY mountains more often.  Yes, I am possessive of the Blue Ridge Mountains.  All of them.  That area of NC just makes me happy.  I can feel myself relaxing as I drive up the mountain.

We had a family gathering at the mountain house.  There were 11 of us staying there for the weekend and we had a blast.  We shopped, we ate, Ian marched in the parade in downtown Blowing Rock, we ate, we watched the fireworks, we took Ian to Tweetsie Railroad, we ate, we had cocktails, we ate and relaxed.  Here is our weekend in pictures:

Marching in the Blowing Rock Parade with Papa and Vivi

View from the back porch of the house

Fireworks in the mountains are awesome cause they are at eye level if you get the right vantage point.

Fireworks!

We loved sitting outside

Ian with my brother - see the resemblance?

On the train at Tweetsie

Giddy Up!

All Aboard!

Riding the rails

Ian loved the Ferris Wheel. He rode with my Dad in the car directly across from us.

We took a ski lift to another part of the park and it scared the crap out of me to watch Ian with my Dad. There was one little bar holding you in and Ian kept leaning over. Can you say HEART ATTACK!

Look Mama! Airplanes!

Baby Goat!

I have saved the best for last.  This is a video that my Dad took of Ian on his first Ferris Wheel ride.  Priceless.

One response to “Mountain weekend for the 4th of July

  1. Looks like a wonderful vacation!! Love Ian’s reaction to the ferris wheel!

    I have such great memories of Tweetsie. Will definitely have to take Lily!

Leave a Reply

