Slow and Steady Wins the Race

Come out, come out, wherever you are

on June 24, 2010

Summer stole my “happy pace” and I want it back!  Either that or it ran away.  I am blaming summer though because I can find my “happy pace” in cooler temperatures without a problem.

For what seems like forever now I can’t find that place when you are running and you feel like you can do it all. day. long.  My stride feels jiggitty (I really have no other word for it), I feel like running takes so much EFFORT and my breathing has no rhythm.  Essentially I feel like I did when I FIRST started running.  Like a spaz.

I am so happy that I am running with some girls this weekend for my long run.  Having people to talk to will do wonders for me since I won’t be able to focus on everything going wrong while running.  If any of my local running friends want to join us email me and I will let you know where we are meeting up.  I am doing 9 miles and the other girls are doing 6.  They run 5:1 intervals and I will be doing those with them.  We are meeting Saturday morning at 7:30.

4 responses to “Come out, come out, wherever you are

  1. Joanne says:

    It might take you 10 or so runs to get used to the summer weather… I didn’t check to see where you are but if you are in a cooler climate and have been seeing higher temps, you body simply needs to acclimate then you’ll get that flowing pace back.

    Saw your interview on Running with Turtles. Good running, Ann!

    • Ann says:

      Thanks for stopping by! I am in Raleigh, NC and it has been hot, hot, hot here since the beginning of May. We are going to have a record tying 101 high today! June isn’t usually this hot. I am melting!

  2. gabrielle says:

    Hey, even if you’re slow, you are out there doing it! That’s the important thing!

    I wish I could come run with y’all, but we will be in beautiful (and hopefully, much cooler!) Minnesota. I’m taking my running shoes. 🙂 Hope y’all have a great run! Maybe I can join you on your next one.

Leave a Reply

