Slow and Steady Wins the Race

Housewife Wanted

on June 23, 2010

Just when I was starting to get a routine figured out my husband’s schedule changed.  We knew this was going to happen, but I really wasn’t prepared for it when he told me last week his shift change would start the next week (Monday was the first day).  He was also out-of-town this past weekend and I was flying solo with the kid.  Sunday felt like the never-ending day of cleaning, shopping, cooking, entertaining and then preparing for work and school the next day.  I don’t think I sat down for more than 20 minutes all day Sunday.

The new routine is a bright and early start to the day at the OH MY GOD IT’S EARLY HOUR (6 AM) with a run if it is a run day.  It’s off to work after that since Jack is in charge of drop off on this schedule.  After work it’s a race to the daycare to get Ian and then home to make dinner, try to get Ian to eat, cleaning up after dinner, random housework, bath for Ian, bedtime routine and sometimes exercise if it is a crosstrain day.  Makes me tired just typing all that!  So yeah, I am TIRED.

I need a housewife or a househusband.  Either one works.

This two working parents thing is hard.  Have I said that enough yet?  I have heard from friends about how hard it is and I knew we were in for change.  I just didn’t know that it was going to be THIS HARD.  I knew Jack had a tough job being at home all day with Ian and I appreciated what he did.  I admit though that I took some of those things he did for granted.  Like cooking dinner.  Cooking dinner after working all day and commuting home is so not what I want to be doing.

Take last night as Exhibit A.  I pick Ian up from daycare.  I didn’t plan any dinners when I went grocery shopping this past weekend and decided to pick them up as I decided what to make during the week.  Yesterday I decided to make spaghetti.  My brain says this is a simple, quick meal.  Hahahahaha.  Someone should have slapped me for thinking that.  Yes, in the grand scheme of cooking this is simple.  Very little prep.  However, the multi-tasker in me just had to do other things while trying to cook the ground turkey, warm the sauce and boil the water for the pasta.  This resulted in me not paying attention to the sauce boiling a bit and shooting sauce rockets all over the kitchen.  A meal that I thought would take 30 minutes took me an hour to make.  The part that took forever was for the water for the pasta to boil.  You know the saying…a watched pot never boils.  Words were never truer tonight as my son kept yelling from the kitchen table, “Mama, I want my pasghetti!”  He is not usually one to go sit at the table and wait for his dinner either.  We usually have to call him to the table at least 5 times.  Having him sitting at the table asking for his food in the same fashion of ARE WE THERE YET?! as if this was a 10 hour car ride was pressure I just wasn’t equipped to handle in that moment with burning streams of marinara flying at me.

I appreciate all those meals that my husband prepared for me before I got home from work about a million times more now.  Especially the ones that required A LOT of prep.  I also appreciate left overs because tonight I can reheat spaghetti in the microwave.

Photo courtesy of ib84

2 responses to “Housewife Wanted

  1. Tobi N says:

    Sounds like my family everyday!! It is hard to be a 2 working parent home…..We have done it for almost 10 years, My boys are 7 & 9 and we have always both worked full time so I feel your pain. As I make some changes to my blog, I will be adding some fast prep meals, crock pot recipes, and other things to make life easier…just one of the ideas I am tossing around to add more excitement to my blog – a focus on the “busy” and Mama” part with a bit less focus on the “running” part since I’m on the injured list!!!

  2. Irene says:

    I laughed when you said you needed a housewife! I need one, too! I love your blog layout.

Leave a Reply

