Slow and Steady Wins the Race

Oh the humidity…

on June 7, 2010

I am in full marathon training now.  The long run miles are starting to get higher as the weeks go on.  I had 7.5 miles on the schedule for this weekend and finally got to meet up with Amy to run together!  I have been too intimidated to run with her since she is so much faster than me.  After repeatedly telling me she would run at my pace, I threw caution to the wind and went for it.  The miles go by so much faster when you are talking and having fun.  Well, I tried to do my part and keep up with the conversation.  Running and talking is hard when the humidity is already making it tough to breathe.  I can see why people love running groups so much now.  I am looking forward to more long runs with her to make the miles go by faster!  The humidity and heat were BRUTAL!  We met up at 6:30 in the morning and it was already in the mid 70’s with air so thick it felt like a force to run through.  Amy was very accommodating of my walk breaks and my attempts to keep my heart rate down, which was a battle all by itself.  I lost that battle, by the way.

I made a big running mistake with this long run and one I should know better not to make.  I didn’t bring fuel for the run.  It had a big impact on my energy level.  I was really starting to feel it around mile 5.  Couple no fuel on the run with a Nutrigrain bar for breakfast and it was a recipe for disaster.  I was lucky that I didn’t fall completely apart.  I did manage to push past it and finish up my planned mileage and then some.  I will not be making that mistake again.

Overall, I am happy with the pace considering the heat, humidity and my poor fuel planning.  8.25 miles in an hour and 50 minutes.  Avg. pace of 13:20.  I don’t have my Garmin with me to do a mile by mile break down, but some miles were definitely faster than others.  We were also avoiding some menacing Canadian Geese when we were running around a little pond.  One of them even went so far as to hiss at us.  I seriously thought it was going to chase us.

Would you want to mess with this? (Photo courtesy of pheanix300)

3 responses to “Oh the humidity…

  1. gabrielle says:

    Summer running just sucks. I thought we’d get a little break before the heat wave set in, but I guess not. 😦 But I think you did great, even with the heat! And it will be much more comfortable in November for the marathon! 🙂

    Watch out for those attack geese! 😉

  2. Amy W says:

    Holy Crap, I forgot about the geese! Thanks again for the run!

  3. Seems we’re on the same page in the book… trying to learn to run w/ others AND remembering to have fuel. We both know better! Okay. Okay. You learned your lesson and I learned mine. We are better (smarter) runners for it, right?

    Hoping we get to eventually tackle a run together. 🙂 We’ll see who’s having the HR issues… the humidity just makes it that much tougher. Whew!

    As for the “Killer Geese” – good gosh! We have swans that may be of the same mindset. Freaks me out when I run too close to them.

    HUGS and congrats on your long run w/ a friend.
    r.

Leave a Reply

