Slow and Steady Wins the Race

This is my brain on not enough sleep…

on May 19, 2010

I am not a morning person.  I can get up early and get moving, but I am not a pop up out of bed cheerful, ready to greet the day with song kinda person.  I need time to get my brain going before I interact with people.  If I don’t get that time I usually communicate in grunts and dirty looks.  My son is not a morning person either.  He needs time to wake up before you put his clothes on and start getting him ready for the day.  Combine me and him in the morning and it takes a VERY LONG TIME for both of us to get ready for work/school.  I have determined that we need at least an hour and a half of getting ready time before we have to head out the door.  That means I have to get up at 6 AM!  Oh. My. God.

I forgot to preface all of that with – Jack started his new job on Monday.  He has to be at work at 6:45 AM and gets out of bed at 5 freakin’ 30!  Since he has to be at work at a time that I think should be outlawed, I have to get Ian ready for school and drop him off.  I also have to be available to pick him up from school just in case Jack’s schedule changes (which could happen while he is training).  That all means that I have to be at work early enough to work a full day to be able to leave early enough to get Ian from daycare.  Got all that?  Basically a normal 8-5 work schedule that I have never worked the entire time I have been at my company (8 years).  I usually rolled in here around 9 to 9:30 sometimes even 10 if I ran in the morning and took a long shower.

Back to getting up at 6.  I don’t think I have ever had to wake up that early repeatedly in my entire life.  I can do the occasional crazy early wake up time, but doing this all the time might kill me.  I will have to find a way to get to bed earlier than the 11:30 to midnight range that I have gotten so used to.  I am sure the sleep deprivation will help with that since it is already starting to catch up with me.  I had forgotten that lack of sleep makes me have really crazy dreams.  Last night I had a dream about my house being infested with mosquitoes, spiders and bees.  The dream also seemed to last forever and made me wake up feeling like I had stuff crawling all over me.  Ick.  Lack of sleep also makes me go off on tangents about weird bug dreams.

I finally got out for a run today after almost a week of no running.  My last run was on Thursday of last week before we took a little mini beach vacation last weekend (it was awesome and I will write a separate post about that later).  My run today was the kind that sucked.  My legs felt like lead and they hurt.  The you haven’t run in a week kind of hurt, not you’re injured kind of hurt.  Sometimes that kind of break from running makes my legs feel rested and refreshed, but not this go around.  It was just awful and it took 2 miles to get that pain worked out.  I was finally feeling okay once I started mile 3.  I was also trying to stay in Zone 4 and I think it was making the whole legs feel like lead thing worse.  I find the slower I go the harder it is on my legs.  Hopefully I can get my groove back and my motivation for running.  I struggled to get out of my office chair today.  It’s probably all the change going on at home and the just getting back from vacation.  My routine has been interrupted and I am not one to deal with change well.

This, friends, has been my brain on not enough sleep.  It ain’t pretty.

2 responses to “This is my brain on not enough sleep…

  1. Jack says:

    Sorry honey, it’s better than the 2:30pm-11:00pm schedule. Maybe.

  2. Jenna says:

    This is your brain… this is your brain on no sleep. Any queations?

Leave a Reply

