Slow and Steady Wins the Race

Happy Mother’s Day!

on May 10, 2010

Mother's Day 2010

I hope everyone had a wonderful Mother’s Day!  I certainly did.  I got to sleep in a bit and have a nice relaxing morning and then ate a ton of food with my family.  I thought about going for a run but I did a 4 mile trail run on Saturday with my friend Gabby.  It was my first ever trail run and it kicked my butt!  We did a good bit of walking too since I was afraid I was going to trip over some tree roots and fall on my face.  There were also some crazy hills!  I loved, loved, loved running around in the woods though and can’t wait to do it again.

I hinted to my husband that there were a couple charms I wanted from Lift Your Sole for Mother’s Day and I found the charm below tucked into my Mother’s Day card!  Isn’t he awesome.

13.1 : Courage to start, Strength to endure, Resolve to finish

I have decided to train for the OBX full marathon.  It still seems a little crazy, but I think with the proper training and attitude I can accomplish anything I set my mind to.  It helps that Gabby told me about all the cool things on the full course that we would get to experience together.  She also said that she would be my long run buddy.  Having someone to do those 20+ mile training runs with makes it seem a little less nutty!  26.2…Here I come!

5 responses to “Happy Mother’s Day!

  1. Amy W says:

    I think I am actually going to do the Austin Marathon next February.

    I would love to join you guys on your long runs…

    • rubber7soul says:

      Wow! That is awesome. We would love to have you along for the long runs. The more merrier!

  2. YAY for having a long run buddy! And I love that charm; your husband did well. =)

  3. mannel inc says:

    great pic high five to Jack – come a long way from the early days on gift giving I see.

  4. What a great pic! Sounds like a great Mother’s day… 🙂 Love the new bling. Now if I could just get my hubs on board with that… need to bookmark the site for him! lol

    26.2????? Wow! You go, girl! Having a training partner for long runs will help lots, I bet.

    I’ve got a new goal in mind, too… soon to be revealed on the Turtles blog. 😉

    HUGS

Leave a Reply

