Slow and Steady Wins the Race

Good Day Sunshine

on May 5, 2010

Photo courtesy of Mr. Thomas

I have started back on my effort of getting up early and running in the morning to avoid the oppressive mid day heat.  Getting out of bed is always a challenge.  This morning my internal monologue went something like this – Gotta get up.  It’s already past 7 and it will take me at least 40 minutes to run a little over 3 miles.  Oh, pillow…so comfortable.  Just a few more minutes.  Zzzzzzzzzzzzzz…(alarm blares again).  Gotta get up.  Gotta get up.  Zzzzzzzzzzz…(alarm blares again).  Gotta get up.  Gotta get up.

I finally shuffled out of bed and got ready.  I am starting to think that the people that sleep in their running clothes have a good idea going there.  I can’t sleep in my sports bra though…that would be majorly uncomfortable.

I really  need to get up a bit earlier so I can enjoy my morning run a bit more.  As it stands right now I am ALWAYS rushing myself to get home so I can get ready for work.  Not exactly the feeling I want when I am trying to do this activity to relieve stress and not create it.  I still feel good after my run, but it isn’t they same kind of feeling I get on an afternoon run when I am not in a big hurry.

My April total ended up being – 38 miles.  Not bad and better than March (31 miles) but it could be better.  Robin had a great idea to run on the odd days in May.  I am going to give it my best shot.  Even if I don’t run on every odd day, I will do my best to get in some form of exercise.  Thanks for the motivation Robin!

3 responses to “Good Day Sunshine

  1. Wait. Whoa. Sleeping in running clothes? That’s *brilliant*. *Brilliant* I tell you. I am so totally gonna try that. Oooh! *squee*! The hardest part for me is always trying to get ready in the morning; if I have my clothes already on and just need to put on my shoes, socks, and hat before I exit the house, that’ll be waaaay easier. Good idea!

  2. Beautiful picture!! And how are those mornings working out?? Glad I could share an “odd” idea. So far, so good on my end. Missed Mother’s Day, after staying up blogging ’til nearly 2 a.m. Saturday night. Didn’t make it outside before the heat/humidity set in. bummer. Otherwise, right on track. How about you? I’ll keep up with ya’ on that, now that I know we’re on the same schedule. Feel free to shout at me if you think I’m slacking. 🙂

  3. By the way: My mornings are ‘alarmingly’ similar. Ha Ha

Leave a Reply

