Slow and Steady Wins the Race

The times, they are a changin’

on April 27, 2010

My husband got the job!  We both have been hoping for many years that he would get an opportunity to work for this company.  It also means that he doesn’t have to drive to Greensboro or Burlington everyday.  I knew if he had to take a job with such a long commute it would have sucked in a big way.  That would have meant that daycare drop off and pick up would have been all me and his day would have been insanely long with all the driving.  I am so thankful we don’t have to worry about that now.  He hasn’t gotten the formal offer letter yet, but it should be coming in the next day or two.  I can’t wait for him to get it so that it all feels a little more real.

While I am so happy for my husband to be back in the working world (I know he has missed it), I am sad that my son will now be in full-time daycare.  He LOVES going to school and has been adjusting well to 3 half days, but one of us not being at home with him makes me sad.  I can tell that Ian misses us when he goes to school.  Whenever we get ready to go, he asks if Mama and Daddy are going to come with him.  I think he expects one of us to stay with him while he plays with his friends.  He has also been super clingy recently.  The kid was like velcro this past weekend and I could barely peel him off me when I had to go to the bathroom to pee.

I also wonder what this means for my running schedule.  During the summer I get up before work and run.  My husband will be working early in the morning while he is training and we don’t know which shift he is going to get after training.  I won’t be getting up at 5am to run before he goes to work.  Loading Ian into the jog stroller at 6am doesn’t sound appealing either.  I might have to get a gym membership and run on a dreadmill during my lunch hour…yuck.  I guess I could run in the evening after work, but I don’t really have the energy for it after working all day, dinner and getting Ian in bed.  If you are a two income household with kids…when do you fit in your runs during the week?

In other running news, I ran 5 miles by accident yesterday.  I set out for my normal office park run and thought I would add some distance on since I didn’t run long over the weekend.  I figured I would go maybe 4 miles instead of 3.5.  Well, I took a turn down a road I have never run down and decided to run to the end not realizing how long the road was until it just kept going and going and going.  Normally, this wouldn’t be much of an issue but I didn’t hydrate or eat properly for a 5 mile run in the heat.  I was dying for some water at the end.  Overall though it was a decent run for me time wise – 5 miles in 1 hour 3 minutes.  I was trying to force myself to go slow since it was pretty warm and I didn’t have any water on me.  I was also doing my best to keep my heart rate in the 160’s, but wasn’t having much success without taking frequent walk breaks.

I need to pick a race to run soon so I can focus my training more.  I would like to run a 10K since I haven’t run one yet.  Anyone have a race coming up that has a 10K option?

3 responses to “The times, they are a changin’

  1. Congratulations to your husband! Was the surprisingly long road that you ran down yesterday scenic to make up for being long, or just long to make up for being long?

    I’ll be following your journal; I’m just beginning to train for a jogging routine, and you sound like a great person to read for inspiration!

  2. gabrielle says:

    Congrats to Jack! The day care thing is hard, but Ian will adjust in time, and it will probably make the transition to Kindergarten a little easier for him.

    I wish I could help you on the run scheduling, but I have no clue how people do it! I was working from home when I started running, so I could squeeze in a run with an early lunch while Mama’s nurse was working but Noah was at school. (I could also go back to my desk without taking a shower and no one cared 😉 I don’t think I could have done it if I had to get up at 6a every day. I know you will find a way, though!

  3. Jack says:

    I know it going to be a rough ajustment. I’ll miss days like today. Ian and I played out back and had a picnic. Hopefully we can work out something so you don’t have to run in the heat this summer.

Leave a Reply

