Slow and Steady Wins the Race

Losing the battle, but winning the war…sometimes

on April 19, 2010

The medicine battle has become more of a spat now.  We have found a combo that works for the antibiotic and that is grape juice mixed in with the grape flavored med and it takes away the medicine taste.  Put that in a cup with a straw and Ian will drink it.  The Tylenol is an ebb and flow battle still.  Sometimes we hand him the little cup and he sucks it down like it is no big deal.  Other times he has to be threatened with no TV or taking away whatever it is that he really wants at the moment to get him to drink it.  It all comes down to control and if he feels like he has it or not.  The only time it isn’t completely about control is when it is the middle of the night and he is in a lot of pain and just doesn’t want to swallow anything.  That was last night.

There is nothing worse than seeing your kid in pain, knowing if he drinks the tsp of medicine it will help at least for a little while and the kid REFUSES to drink it.  I felt so bad for him, but I was also losing every bit of patience I had because he wouldn’t listen and take the damn medicine!  I don’t know why I was trying to reason with a hysterical 3-year-old, but I was.  Note to self: logic doesn’t work with a 3-year-old.  Anyway, last night was a rough night.  He slept with us in our bed and woke up periodically in pain.  I am hoping that last night was the worst of it and we will be on the down slope from here.  The Doctor told us that day 6 and 7 would be the worst and he was right.

Even after the night of hell we went through with Ian’s first day of pre-school today.  He will be going to school for 3 half days a week.  He was so excited to go play with his new friends and he actually had a very good day.  I freaked the teachers in his classroom out when I told them Ian couldn’t get to rowdy because his blood pressure couldn’t go up too much due to a risk of bleeding.  I just didn’t want him running laps around the playground when they went outside.  Still I think the teacher was like Oh God, don’t let this kid have an incident on the first day of school.  Everything was fine.  I surely didn’t want to be those people with that kid.

I will have to get a picture of Ian with his Star Wars lunch bag that he picked out for school.  I was shocked that Star Wars beat out Buzz Lightyear.  But, I think Yoda is much cooler than Buzz, so I can’t really blame  him ;).

3 responses to “Losing the battle, but winning the war…sometimes

  1. swellmama says:

    Go Ian! Hope tonight is better for you guys. Hugs!!

  2. Robin says:

    Sometimes you have to be “those people with that kid!” Advocacy, friend… 🙂 Hope things are settling down a bit. So glad he got to play w/ his new friends. That’s neat and makes me smile.

    HUGS…

  3. mannel inc says:

    I agree with the above post, sometimes you are that person with that kid. We are all that person with that kid at some point. I hope he continues to have good days at school! Good to talk to you the other day. June sounds good for a trip!

Leave a Reply

