Slow and Steady Wins the Race

A full Mary…

on April 19, 2010

At the Cary Road Race my friend Gabby turns to me and says “A friend of mine is running the OBX full marathon and asked me if I would do it with her.  I said sure.  If you want, you should run it with us.”

I looked at her like she had lost her freakin’ mind.  Sorry Gabby.  I did say I would think about it though.  Now, it was not long ago that I said I didn’t think I had a Full Marathon in me.  I still don’t know if I do.  However, there is a part of me that wants to do at least ONE marathon in my lifetime as one of those things that I have done.  I honestly don’t know if 26.2 is really for me.  It is this basic question that hangs me up.  I have read many times that if your heart isn’t completely in it, you shouldn’t do it.  I must find out if my heart is in it.

When I was training for the OBX half marathon I had many moments on some long runs where I said “why am I doing this again?”  Does that happen to everyone that is training for a long-distance race?  Is it just natural to ask the question – why am I running for 2-3 hours at the crack of dawn on a Saturday/Sunday?  I kinda think there is something wrong with you if you don’t have those moments…

At the very least I definitely want to run the OBX half since I wasn’t able to run that race last year.  I am not looking forward to training in the summer though :P.  I hate, hate, hate running in the heat.  I would MUCH rather run in the 30 degree winter.  Another thing I never thought I would say.

Pay It Forward 500 Club Stats:

My total miles for the year so far – 151 miles
January – 43 miles
February – 57 miles
March –  31 miles
April – 24 miles so far

I should be on track to meet my 500 mile goal, but I need to make sure I don’t have any more months like March.  Wow, I was slacking!

6 responses to “A full Mary…

  1. Amy W says:

    I am going to do OBX again, but yea, my heart isn’t in for a full. Maybe later in life, but not now.

  2. gabrielle says:

    Woo hoo! For me, passing the half-marathon distance in training hooked me on running a full. But either way, you’ll be down at the Outer Banks running and so we shall celebrate when we’re through, full or half! 🙂

  3. Robin says:

    Oh, friend… I hear you. I don’t have any desire (yet?!) to do a full marathon, partly b/c I know I would not be able to (choose to?) commit to the required training and partly b/c I know glucose/fatigue would be major issues.

    I believe your heart has to be in it, no matter the distance. And yes, I think we all probably question the run from time to time (I think so, anyway?). I absolutely don’t like hot/humid weather either. Training in it is not an option for me. I say listen to your heart and figure out what matters most. You’ll know.

    Hugs!
    robin/turtle runner

  4. Robin says:

    P.S. Your PiF mileage looks great! I’m envious… so behind! Good for you!

  5. Adventuroo says:

    Wow- I’m impressed! I’m definitely not a runner (I teach group exercise as my main exercise). I always wondered what made people do marathons… but then again I’ve hiked across the Grand Canyon so I’m a glutten for SOME punishment! It’s part endurance and part mental strength. sounds like you’ve got both given your running stats so far this year– go girl!

  6. Wow. “I must find out if my heart is in it” might be one of the most profound things I’ve read in quite a while. That’s a question I could stand to ask myself sometimes.

Leave a Reply

