Slow and Steady Wins the Race

The Vomit Threshold

on March 30, 2010

I know the title is kinda gross.  But, if you know me in real life, you know I am a very direct person.  I just tell ya how it is and I really don’t know how to sugar coat anything.  It’s a problem.

Anyway, I was talking to a friend this morning who has recently started running.  He was telling me how he knew he was running too fast when he got the “I am going to puke” feeling.  I was all, huh?!  I have no idea what you are talking about dude.  You see it has been a VERY long time since I have pushed that hard when I run.  I have been so concentrated on distance that I have just thrown speed by the wayside.  I have just been running in the happy place of “I can breathe, I can run” and not going beyond that.  I have forgotten all about the uncomfortable running feeling that I would get all the time when I started running and I was pushing constantly.  I don’t know when I got so complacent.

Today I decided that I needed to see what my vomit threshold is because…why not.  I decided on my run today I was going to see just how fast I could run a 5K.  My total run was going to be around 3.5 miles but I figured I would run as hard as I could for as long as possible and just see how fast I could run 3.1.  This was also so I could figure out if I could create a new PR in the Cary Road Race 5K.  The first mile I warmed up a bit and then picked up the pace.  I ran the first mile in 11:52, the second mile in 10:27 and then my legs turned to jelly.  I started walking A LOT.  The third mile was  13:14.  3.1 miles took me about 36:30.  My vomit threshold is around the speed of a 10 min/mile for me.  I could hold that pace for a while, but my heart rate is topping out and I will crash and burn soon after.  This was an interesting exercise and one I should do more often.  I need to get used to running in the uncomfortable zone if I want to get faster.

The funny moment of my run.  I am running at a good clip and coming up fast on two guys moseying down the sidewalk.  I need to alert them to my presence and not just mow them down.  I can barely breathe and talking seems nearly impossible, but I manage to get – On…your….left – out while gasping for air.  The guy on the left turns around and literally JUMPS out of my way.  Okay, I know a 5’10” chick barreling at you has to be startling, but seriously!  I think he overreacted a tiny bit.

3 responses to “The Vomit Threshold

  1. Lisa says:

    Funny you should post this because I was just looking at training plans, not really to train for a specific race but to get faster.

    I think doing what you did is a good way to gauge progress.

    Funny about the guy jumping out of your way. Gave them something to talk about after you went by lol.

  2. Caroline says:

    Hahaha I love it! Now if only I had been there! I miss running with you. Well I miss running in general. I have been lazy. I need a goal! Any races before may 1st?

  3. rubber7soul says:

    @Caroline – The Cary Road Race is this weekend. I am going to run the 5K. Not sure when you are coming back from NYC, so you may not be able to run that one. If it stops being so hot during the day we will have to get together for a lunch time run at the Greenway.

Leave a Reply

