Slow and Steady Wins the Race

Learning to love Zone 4

on March 29, 2010

I kicked myself in the butt and got out for a run on Sunday.  It really was one of those days where I just wasn’t feeling it, but I knew I would regret it if I didn’t go.  I was planning on running 5 miles this weekend since I have been thinking about doing the 10k at the Cary Road Race.  I am still not sure if I will do the 10k or 5k since I haven’t been running much the past couple weeks.  Anyway, when I started my run on Sunday I figured I would just do 3 since I was feeling lazy.  Then, the thing that always happens happened.  When I struggle to get out the door, I have a great run.  I get going and I manage to stay relaxed cause well I am just doing it to do it and I don’t have a purpose in mind.  I am running purely for the enjoyment of running.  If only I could keep that mindset all the time!

I ended up running my planned 5 miles and then some.  I set my Garmin to beep at me when my heart rate got above Zone 4.  For the first time I actually was able to run for more than 20 feet before it beeped at me!  Progress!  I also found that my heart rate goes up when running uphill (of course) but that I can bring it back down through concentration and breathing on the downhill.  Yay me!  I still did a good bit of walking cause my neighborhood is nothing but hills.  My frustration level was considerably lower though since I had some nice long running stretches.

I hope I can hold onto my Zen from Sunday for a while.  I am sure it will disappear when I am fighting with Zone 4 again.

One response to “Learning to love Zone 4

  1. Amy W says:

    I would still like to meet up to run! I promise to run at your pace. I like running with people, keeps me motivated. Glad you had a good run, maybe you could teach me about the heart rate monitor, I have no idea how to use mine.

Leave a Reply

