Slow and Steady Wins the Race

Who put blocks of cement on my feet?

on February 22, 2010

My running this past week has not been good.  On Wednesday I ran almost 3 miles at a decent pace, but my legs were still tired from the long run the previous Sunday.  I did a 2.5 mile run yesterday with some walking to the park included.  The run yesterday was just really rough in general.  My legs felt heavy, my thigh was hurting and I just could not find my rhythm.  Those days just happen sometimes and I have read that this is common during taper.  I was supposed to go for a run today, but I ended up doing a bunch of stuff around the house instead.  If it wasn’t supposed to be rainy tomorrow I would try to get in the missed miles.  These are the times when I could use a treadmill.

I have 5 days until the Crystal Coast Half!  I have started the weather check and right now it says partly sunny with a high of 51.  The morning will be chilly with temps in the mid to high 30’s.  I like running in the cooler weather and hope that the rain and wind stay away!  I am going to focus on being well rested this week and drinking lots of water.  I have no idea what my pre-race meal is going to be (the night before).  Any suggestions?  I will stick with what I know works the morning of the race.  I usually eat a bagel with cream cheese, have a cup of coffee and maybe a banana if I feel like I need something else.

Speaking of food, we had the best meal tonight.  Last night my husband made black bean cakes using the Lucky 32 recipe.  They were tasty and we had some left over for tonight.  I felt like they needed some fresh salsa, which is how they are served at Lucky 32.  So, I made some salsa tonight (my first time making it).  WOW!  The salsa combined with the black bean cakes and some sour cream was amazing. I think it was better than what we can get at the restaurant.  He also made some hot artichoke dip that was fabulous.  I am so stuffed and may have gained 5 pounds in one night.  If you like fresh salsa, here is the recipe:

3 Roma tomatoes
1/2 cup of onion finely diced (I use red)
1/2 cup of fresh cilantro chopped
1 or more jalapeno peppers minced (your preference for heat)
1 clove fresh garlic minced
1 lime or 2 tsp lime juice
1 small avocado chopped
1 tsp salt (or more to taste)

I combine all the ingredients putting the salt in last and then squeeze the lime juice over the top and mix.  Chill for 1 hour.  I use a whole lime and squeeze all the juice out, but I love the flavor.  This would be great for any Mexican dish and is great for scooping onto chips!

Leave a Reply

