Slow and Steady Wins the Race

Just leap…

on February 8, 2010

First I have to say that I REGISTERED FOR THE CRYSTAL COAST HALF!!  I am excited, nervous and wondering if I am going to be the slowest person on the course.  I might be the person that has the cop car following them closing the course.  This is a small race.  Last year they had a little over 400 runners and about 3/4 of them were running the half.  There is a 5K too.  I looked at last years race results and it appears that there were only about 15 people that would have been slower than me.  I don’t know why this concerns me so much, but I have a fear of coming in dead last.  I am hopeful though that my time will be faster than I think since the course is FLAT.  The only hill in the entire race is the bridge that connects Morehead City with Atlantic Beach.  I will have to run up and down that baby twice.  I don’t know how many times I have driven over that bridge.  Now I get to run over it!

When I woke up yesterday morning my legs were a bit sore from the KKC and I really did NOT feel like doing my long run.  I just wasn’t in the mood to go out and freeze my arse off after standing in the freezing cold the previous morning.  We also had a playdate planned for the morning and that just made me want to be even more lazy.  Once the afternoon rolled around I decided I was just gonna go out and run whatever distance felt good to me that day.  No pressure to complete the planned 9.5 miles.  There is a weird phenomenon associated with not wanting to run and then having a really good running day.  That was what happened to me yesterday.  Once I got going and my legs actually felt pretty good and I managed to keep my pace nice and slow.  I didn’t map my run before I went out and figured I would just go until I didn’t want to go anymore.  I ran for 1 hour 54 minutes.  In total it was 8.65 miles.  My pace was about 13:10 per mile.  I am pretty happy with that.  I had a feeling I was up over 8 miles near the end and wanted to keep going to get to 9.5, but my hamstrings were starting to get really tight and I figured it was best to take my accomplishment and go home.  My legs were extremely sore last night and I thought I would barely be able to walk today.  I am pleasantly surprised that my legs are sore, but not the worst they have ever been.  I didn’t fall down when I got out of bed this morning and I thought that was a good sign :).

Now I just need to figure out what my running plan is going to be for the next 2 weekends.  I can’t decide if I am going to go for 10 this weekend and then 12 next weekend (the last weekend before the race) or if I should shoot for 11 this weekend and then start my taper.  Any advice?  I really have no idea how long I should taper to be nice and fresh for the Half.

4 responses to “Just leap…

  1. gabrielle says:

    11 is plenty! If you can do 10-11, then you can absolutely do the full half. I would think you need the rest more than another long run. I ran 11 2 wks before my first half and then tapered. That’s my 2 cents. 🙂

  2. Lisa says:

    Hi there,
    I discovered your blog through a comment you left on Robin’s Running Circles Around the Turtles blog.

    I ran my first 10k last October. It was a small race and I was scared to death of being last. I didn’t even have prior years race results to look at.

    I pondered whether or not I should actually register. I bit the bullet because I said on my blog to whoever reads it that I would run the race.

    I ran it and you know what? I wasn’t last. I was middle of the pack, or back of the middle, but I wasn’t last.

    You will do great in the half. I look forward to reading how it goes.

  3. rubber7soul says:

    Gabby – Thanks for the advice! I was thinking a 2 week or so taper would be a good idea. Plus I have really been packing in the miles with few rest days due to the weather. My legs are gonna need some rest!

    Lisa – Thanks for stopping by! I appreciate the motivation too :). I keep telling myself, who cares if you are last! Even if I am, I did it and that is more than a lot of people can say, right!

  4. Amy W says:

    Good luck at the race! I was going to sign up for that after Myrtle Beach was cancelled, but considering I didn’t run at all last week or the weekend, I think I am going to do Raleigh Rocks at the end of March…

Leave a Reply

