Slow and Steady Wins the Race

Call me Speedy

on February 4, 2010

I was finally able to hit the road again today after the snow and sleet hit us this past Friday and Saturday.  I haven’t gone for a run since last Thursday.  It was really putting a damper on my half marathon training.

My run today was spectacular.  I was running with Caroline today and we did our 3.5 mile route around the office park and dodged some icy sidewalks in the process.  At first my stride felt a bit off, but I expected that since I haven’t run in a week.  I finally got it smoothed out about a mile into the run.  There were a few times when I wanted to stop and take a walk break, but I didn’t want to lose my rhythm so we just kept on truckin’ and boy were we moving.  At one point when Caroline checked her iPhone GPS app it said we running at a 10:30 pace.  I believe it too.  It felt like we were flying at one point.  Overall our average pace was 11:29 and that is crazy fast for me.  That average includes our walking warm up and cool down at the end.  Another reason I want to get a Garmin!  I want to know how fast I am going when I am actually running.

The Krispy Kreme Challenge is this weekend.  We are expecting rain or freezing rain on Friday and that might cancel the race (the freezing part, not the rain part).  I am hoping that it just rains on Friday and then clears out early Saturday morning so we can still run.

I still haven’t decided on running the Crystal Coast Half.  I am leaning towards just doing it, so I can get one under my belt.  I just want to get one done if I have to crawl across the finish line and then work on a time goal for a future race.  I have had the goal of a Half in my head for nearly a year now and I just want to get one done, so I can stop obsessing about it already.

One response to “Call me Speedy

  1. applec says:

    I think the description of your blog is perfect “Love hate relationship with running”. I love that and feel that way SO often.
    I know what you mean about the snow and ice. It’s a pain and running on the T/M is such a thrill-kill.
    As for the 1/2-M, good luck. You know, if you sign up, you’re much more likely to go thru w/ it.
    Keep running and I’m glad I found your site.

Leave a Reply

