Slow and Steady Wins the Race

Foiled

on January 26, 2010

Ya know how I was just mentioning the *other* half marathon that I might run in March, the one on the American Tobacco Trail.  My back up.  The one that made me feel all warm and fuzzy inside because I had a back up just in case I didn’t feel ready for the Crystal Coast Half.  Well, as I was setting up my little list of upcoming races I discovered that the race is FULL!  WHAT?!  I was just looking at it last week.  Argggg!  And that word is putting it nicely.  Is this the Universe’s way of telling me that I am going to run the Half in February whether I LIKE IT OR NOT!  I say NOT.  I don’t want the pressure.  Stop the madness.

Then, Caroline went to sign up for the Krispy Kreme Challenge today and found that the registration for that is now CLOSED.  Just yesterday there were like a 1,000 spots left.  What is up with all the people who are all motivated?  Oh yeah, it’s all those New Year’s resolutions and charity giving and all that.  Oh well, she is going to run with me anyway, but will have to do it bandit style.  I can wear my fuel belt so she has water and it’s not like I was gonna eat the whole dozen donuts myself anyway.

You see, I don’t like to sign up for a race until the last possible moment.  I have this fear that I am going to injure myself or that I am tempting fate by signing up early.  Fate would be all like, oh yeah, you wanna make plans to run a race, well here is a nice little ankle injury.  Maybe I should just tell fate to talk to the hand and sign up for races early.  The thing makes me nervous are some of the bigger races like a half marathon can be expensive ($60+).  In some cases (big races) you can defer your registration, but others, not so much.  Maybe my New Year’s resolution should be to register for races as soon as I can…I will let you know if I work up the courage to register for the Crystal Coast Half.  Decisions, Decisions.

Leave a Reply

