Slow and Steady Wins the Race

Couch to 5K redux

on December 10, 2009

I think that I have mentioned that I have been doing the C25k workouts again with coworker Caroline.  She has been running the program and I started doing them with her to keep her company and well to get back to running without walking.  We did Week 7 last week which is 25 minute runs with no walking and this week we are doing Week 8 which is 27 minute runs with no walking.  On Tuesday it was rather cold and blustery, but we bundled up and headed out for our first 27 minute run.  I had the kind of run that I wish for every time.  I was relaxed, my legs felt great and I could breath without a problem.  It was the kind of running day where you feel like you could just run forever.  It was amazing.  On top of feeling great, I ran for 30 minutes and a distance of 2.5 miles.  I wanna get up to running 3 miles without stopping and I have started my training again for a half-marathon.  I did a long run of 5 miles last weekend and it went really well.

My ankle still isn’t feeling normal.  I don’t have any problems when I am running (knock on wood).  However, the next day after a run I feel some twinges of pain.  It isn’t constant pain or anything but there are definitely moments that make me say OWWW!  If I have pain while running again I will seek out a second opinion, but I am trying to avoid it because I have a feeling the Doctor would want to order an MRI.  We just can’t afford to pay the deductible since we got the bill from Ian’s hospital visit.

I can’t believe it is December already!  I also can’t believe that I have stuck with running for a full year.  Amazing.  The running has definitely paid off and I can tell in a number of ways.

1)  I feel better physically and mentally.  Running has helped me deal with stress in a big way.

2)  I have lost a lot of weight.  In total I am down about 20 pounds.  I also bought a pair of jeans in a size 8 yesterday.  I haven’t worn a single digit size in about 15 years.

3)  Running helps me remember that you can do anything if you don’t give up.

Leave a Reply

