Slow and Steady Wins the Race

Finding My Pace Again

on September 21, 2009

I am trying to restrain myself and take things slowly.  So far I have been good about limiting my weekday runs to 2 miles and my “long run” has been about 3 miles the past two weeks.  My ankle is still a bit achy sometimes, but it doesn’t hurt while I am running, just when I am taking a walk break.  I am very in-tune with how it is feeling and don’t want to make the problem worse.  Right now I think that the tendons are just getting used to running again and being stretched out.  I haven’t had any pain that lasts or reminds me of the initial injury.  Hopefully, it stays that way.

At first my pace was back to what it was when I first started running.  I am starting to get my legs and my breathing back though and have gotten back to around a 12 and a half minute mile on the short runs and am still up around 13 and a half for anything longer.  Ultimately I want to get to point where I can run a full 3 miles without walk breaks.  I lost the ability to run continuously after the thigh muscle injury in February.  I might pick up my iPod and use some of the couch to 5K podcasts to help me get back there.  It is a real pain in the butt to keep looking at your watch and time yourself.  I have also found that my counting is not reliable at all.  When I thought I was running 2 minutes and walking a minute while training for the half, I was actually running about 4 minutes and walking 2 minutes.  Anyway, I am happy my rhythm is coming back fairly easily and now it will just be a matter of increasing my distance again.

I am considering the Shamrock Half in VA since the OBX Half is out.  I hope my body cooperates this time around!

2 responses to “Finding My Pace Again

  1. swellmama says:

    Glad you’re back running. Hope it keeps going well!

  2. mannel inc says:

    I LOL I know exactly what song you were listening to! So good to catch up and hear that you have new goals…I still think just saying OBX is cool but hey – injuties…atheletes…that’s what’s up. Keep it up JPM

Leave a Reply

