Slow and Steady Wins the Race

Freedom

on September 9, 2009

I went for my follow-up appointment with the quack Doctor yesterday.  I have decided that I will never go see that man again.  When he walks into the exam room, he sees my flip flops and says “you know those are really bad for shin splints.”  Me – “no, didn’t know that.”  (In my head – why is he talking to me about shin splints.  Didn’t we determine I don’t have shin splints.  What is wrong with this dude.)  Doctor – “I thought we talked about footwear for shin splints, but just so you know, those can exacerbate the problem.”  Me – “okay” with confused look on my face.

Doctor then starts prodding the FRONT of my leg and says “does this hurt?”  By this point I wanted to smack the man.  This is my third visit to his office and he doesn’t have the decency to read my f’n chart before  he walks into the room.  Anyway, I tell him that I wouldn’t have pain on the front of my leg since my ANKLE was where I had the injury.  I literally saw the lightbulb click on over his head and then the dumbass decides to read my chart.  He reviews my previous visits and I tell him I went for a short run that morning alternating walking and running and was able to run without pain.  He says “great, do you have any questions?”  Umm, yeah about a million.  I decided that I wasn’t going to listen to him anymore so I just said “I guess I can ease back into running now?”,  he says “sure go ahead, but come back if you have the problem again.”  Not bloody likely.

I should have listened to my instincts about this guy from the beginning and went to see someone else.  Oh well, lesson learned.  Hopefully, I can take it slow and get back into my routine and I won’t have this problem again.  If I do I will certainly be doing some research and checking around to find a Doctor that is a fit for me.

My run yesterday was rough.  I felt like I was starting the couch to 5K program all over again.  Okay, not that bad, but still it was difficult.  I have lost a lot of my endurance.  I couldn’t run for more than a minute without running out of breath.  I am going to go for a run in the morning and see how it goes.  It is going to be tough getting up early again, but I have actually missed my early morning run.

Fingers crossed that my ankle is all healed up!

Leave a Reply

