Slow and Steady Wins the Race

9 miles and a personal best

on June 17, 2009

I have been trying to reach the 9.5 mile goal on my training schedule for a few weeks now.  I attempted it again on the Sunday before last (June 7th).  I got a later start out of the house than I intended to and the temperature was already rising.  It is incredibly difficult to run in the heat and stay motivated.  The first half of the run wasn’t too bad, but once I hit mile 6 it was a struggle.  I was running laps around a little pond not to far from my house.  There is a paved 1/2 mile loop that I run on my long runs.  I had to keep giving myself the I think I can speech in my head.  I was also counting down the laps and telling myself that I could run 1 more lap.  It is similar to what I do when running up a hill and trying to finish out whatever time I had set myself to run (1 min., 2 min., etc).  You can always push yourself by saying you can do anything for a minute.  Anyway, I couldn’t quite push myself to go that last 1/2 mile.  I was hot and tired and really just wanted to go home and lay on the floor.  So, I did.  I finished my 9 mile run in about 2 hours and 5 minutes.

Yesterday, I went for my regular old short run around the office park.  My alarm clock didn’t go off in the morning and I couldn’t get my run in before I came to work.  Not a big deal really since it was raining and I hoped to avoid running in the rain.  It was an overcast day all day and the temperature wasn’t supposed to get much past 70.  Running in the afternoon wasn’t as brutal as it has been.  I am not sure what made everything come together yesterday, but my breathing was spot on and the hills didn’t kill me.  I just ran and ran and took some short walk breaks here and there.  It is amazing how much farther I can go when I don’t have the sun sucking the life out of me.  I was shocked when I entered my run into my training log and found that I ran 3.5 miles in 40 minutes!  An 11 min. mile pace…how crazy is that!

Leave a Reply

