Slow and Steady Wins the Race

8 miles on Mother’s Day

on May 12, 2009

When I woke up on Sunday morning I was thinking to myself – self, why are you running 8 miles on Mother’s Day?  Most mom’s will be sitting in bed waiting for their husbands/kids to bring them breakfast.  Not me.  No, I was prepping for an 8 mile run and starting to wonder why I thought training for a half-marathon was a good idea.  Guess what my Mother’s Day gift to myself was.  It was a fuel belt.  That in itself is pretty funny.  Because when I started running I would have laughed in your face if you said that in the near future I was going to be running distances that would require a fuel belt.  So, I got dressed and went downstairs and did something I have never done before.  I drank a cup of coffee before my run.  I have never done it before cause I always thought the caffeine would dehydrate me and cause coffee tends to move things along if ya know what I mean (sorry if that is TMI).  I really don’t want to be 4 miles from home and in need of a bathroom.  I drank coffee that morning cause I needed a pick me up and all the studies coming out now say that it actually helps with your workout.  Plus the amount of caffeine in one cup apparently isn’t enough to dehydrate you.  

Now, I don’t know if it was the coffee or just my general state of being that day, but I felt like the first 4 miles of that run were almost effortless.  It was kinda bizarre.  Normally the first 2 miles or so of any run just plain suck for me.  I am trying to get my rhythm, my body is getting warmed up and I just don’t really enjoy it.  Not this past Sunday.  The temperature outside was just right and I was running a new route with some new scenery.  I figured the 8 mile run was going to be hell and it was the exact opposite.  It was quite pleasant.  I even managed to do my 2 min run/1 min walk/2 min run almost the entire time.  There were only a couple of breaks longer than a minute but I usually made up for it with a longer run afterward.  Oh, and by the way my total distance was actually 8.25 miles ;).  I even managed a damn good pace of 13:18 so the whole thing took me 1:50:00.  Maybe I needed a good run that day to remind me why I want to run the OBX half.  

Week after next is a 9.5 mile run.

One response to “8 miles on Mother’s Day

  1. gabrielle says:

    Wooooo hooooo! That is awesome! You will definitely be ready for the half! Maybe you will even change your mind and go for the full… 😉

Leave a Reply

