Slow and Steady Wins the Race

6 miles

on April 28, 2009

I got up bright and early this past Saturday morning and headed out to attempt my first 6.5 mile run.  I hate that I have to do my long run in the morning now since it is getting in the 80’s and 90’s in April!  I didn’t map out my run before I went and just tried to add some on to my 5 mile route hoping that it would equal about 6.5 miles.  I have found that I am usually a pretty good judge of distance now that I have been doing this for a while.  That was not the case for my wanna be 6.5 mile run.  It seems that once you are out there for a while you get punchy and the run just seems to go on forever.  Well, I get punchy.  I don’t know about other distance runners.  Anyway, once I hit mile 4 I was pretty tired.   I was using the 2 minute run/1 minute walk/2 minute run the whole way up to that point.  I had to take a long walk break after 4 miles and this was on a stretch of all uphill and I knew I didn’t have the energy to run up it at all.  After about a 1/4 mile walk I was feeling much better and did a 3/4 mile run which was either flat or downhill.  Once I was done with that though it was a struggle to get my feet moving again for the run intervals.  As I was nearing the end I felt like I had been running for 2 hours.  I also realized that I was incredibly thirsty.  I really need to get a fuel belt or something for the long runs.  When I finally made it back to the house I was shocked to find that I had been gone for a little less than an hour and a half and not two hours.  I didn’t realize that I had run 6 miles instead of 6.5 until I mapped my run.  I have learned my lesson now that I need to plan my route ahead of time to hit my target.  However, I don’t think I could have made it 6.5 miles on that particular run.

This week is my step back week in the training program so my long run day is just 3 miles.  Next week though I am supposed to make the jump to 8 miles!!  It will be interesting to see how that goes…

Leave a Reply

