Slow and Steady Wins the Race

My first 5 mile run

on April 15, 2009

Yesterday I went for my long run.  It was the first of many on the road to training for the half-marathon in November.  I tried something different for this run.  Jeff Galloway’s run/walk/run training method has different running/walking times depending on your pace.  Previously I haven’t been following the recommended times for my pace.  I was just running 5 minutes and walking a minute.  According to the Galloway method I should be running 2 minutes and walking a minute since I run about a 12 minute mile.  I decided to give that a try for my long run especially since I was running around my neighborhood and on the evil hills around here.  The first 2.5 miles was pretty rough.  I was running past the house at the halfway point and I really wanted to stop and collapse on the living room floor.  I forced myself to keep going and took a long walk break (about a 1/4 of a mile).  After that recovery I felt much better and ran a mile straight and the rest of the run went really well.  I am still experiencing some soreness with my pesky gracilis muscle, but I think the Galloway method is keeping me from injuring it.  I believe that the muscle is just tight from the previous injury and I need to be diligent with my stretching.  I hope I am right!

Leave a Reply

