Slow and Steady Wins the Race

Cary Road Race

on April 15, 2009

I know I am late in getting this post up here, but better late than never!

The Cary Road Race was on April 4th at the Koko Booth Amphitheatre.  Getting to parking was pretty simple and once we figured out where the packet pick-up was, I got my stuff quickly.  The signs leading to packet pick-up were a little confusing cause they seemed to point the way toward the finish line of the race.  That was not good considering people were still finishing the 10K and we were in their way trying to figure out where to go.  The Amphitheatre is a great place for a race since the lawn makes for a good area for the vendors to set up tents and people still have room to roam around while waiting for the race to start.  The course was very nice too.  There is only one big hill at the beginning and the rest is pretty flat or downhill.  There is a section where you run around the lake which is nice and scenic.  

I used the Galloway method for the race – run 5 min/walk 1 min/run 5 min.  I missed the guy at mile 1 that was calling out the split, but I took my headphones out when I saw the guy at mile 2 and I was shocked when he said 23:14!  I couldn’t believe that I was running under a 12 minute mile pace at that point.  After I passed mile 2 though I was starting to struggle.  It was obvious that I went out too fast.  I crossed the finish line with a time of 37:43 and I was very happy with that.  I wanted to run it in under 39 minutes and was able to manage about a 12 minute mile pace overall.  I liked the race course a lot and would like to do it again.  Next year I would like to do the 10K.

 

At the Start

At the Start

 

After crossing the finish line!

After crossing the finish line!

 

Dancing at the Cary Road Race

Dancing at the Cary Road Race

3 responses to “Cary Road Race

  1. gabrielle says:

    Wooooo hooooo, Ann!!! 🙂 You are awesome! And Ian is too cute, seriously.

    It was a nice course, and other than that damn hill (which you have to run 2x in the 10k, arrrgh!) it was lots of fun. The folks along the course were *great*! Let’s make a date for the 10k next year! 🙂

    I think my last race until fall will be the NC Half-Marathon on May 2, and then I’ll spend the summer trying not to lose ground running and moving my great-gma into a rest home. :/ Are you still looking at the OBX half? I’m still planning to do the marathon, and my friend Mark is coming down from ID, too- it could be a party at the beach! 🙂

  2. mannel inc says:

    IT’S ABOUT TIME!

  3. mannel inc says:

    YOU PUT SOME PICTURES ON YOUR BLOG. Congrats on your race and Ian is such a little cutie!

Leave a Reply

