Slow and Steady Wins the Race

Back in the saddle

on March 31, 2009

I was in San Francisco all last week for the Game Developers Conference.  I had big plans to use the gym at the hotel to keep up with my running routine.  I packed my running clothes and had very good intentions before I got on the plane.  Then, we got to San Francisco and stayed out really late on Monday night and had several drinks at different bars all over town.  When I woke up on Tuesday morning I was not feeling too great and soon discovered that I had a mild case of food poisoning too.  I couldn’t hold food in my stomach until 6 p.m. on Tuesday evening.  So, my plans for a Tuesday run were shot.  I set my alarm for Wednesday morning again with every intention of getting up and running before a fun filled day of recruiting.  My alarm went off and I managed to get out of bed and started to get ready.  Then I got a phone call from my hubby and he had to tell me about his fun filled morning with our son and a bottle of nail polish.  After talking to hubby for a while I lost all motivation and never made it to the gym.  You can see where this is going, right?  Thursday rolls around and I didn’t bother trying to go running in the morning, but I talked myself into going to the gym and running after standing for 8 hours on the show floor.  That run was not good but I didn’t expect much.  I am just happy that I made it to the gym.  There was no way I was going running on Friday.  It is the last day of the show and by that time I was exhausted.  All in all not bad considering I would have never used the gym in previous years.  Plus we did a lot of walking in the city so it wasn’t like I was sitting on my ass eating french fries all day.

Now that I am back in the office I am trying to get back to my regular running routine.  I did the 5 minute running and 1 minute walking routine today.  I probably ran/walked a little less than 3 miles today.  I think the run went pretty good overall.  It is a hot day for running, 68 degrees, which always makes me feel a bit sluggish.  I was waiting to see how today’s run went before I registered for the Cary Road Race.  I feel pretty confident that I won’t have any problems running the 5K on Saturday now.  I won’t be breaking any personal time records but it will be nice to have another race under my belt.  It looks like we will have good weather this weekend and that means I will actually have some spectators at the race to take pictures!

Leave a Reply

