Slow and Steady Wins the Race

Rain, Rain Go Away

on March 17, 2009

It has been a week since I have been able to hit the road.  It has been raining here since Friday and it has sucked.  Not only has it been raining it has been cold and raining.  I would probably run in the rain if it were in the mid 50’s to 60’s, but below that and there is no way.  The rain may have been a good thing for me though since it forced me to rest my leg and not make my muscle problem worse.  I have been riding the bike at home since I haven’t been able to run.  I have also been doing my best to keep up with some strength training exercises.  The types and length of my strength workout usually depends on my mood that night, but I am trying to be consistent with core exercises and push ups.  I need to work on my triceps since I have that whole flabby skin under the arm thing when I wave.  Yuck.

I was not expecting much out of my run today since it has been a week.  I ran/walked a 3.3 mile course today around the office park and overall felt pretty good about how it went.  The beginning was rough while I was trying to get my rhythm and when I had to tackle a hill in the middle it about killed me but I didn’t keel over and die.  I took 4 walk breaks of about 1 minute each.  Two of the breaks were pretty close together because of the hill.  I am happy with the distance though and ran the majority of it.  

I hope to get a couple more runs in this week and then next week I am off to San Francisco for a work conference.  The hotel looks like it has a nice gym so I will hit the treadmills while I am out there.  San Fran is way too hilly for me to even consider running outside!  I would die if I tried the hills out there when a little bump in the road here almost kills me.  The tricky part is going to be keeping my motivation to go running in the morning.

One response to “Rain, Rain Go Away

  1. gabrielle says:

    I’m glad you had a good run! That’s great after a week off. 🙂

    Good luck in San Fran next week~ I never seem to be able to motivate when I”m away from home- too many distractions.

Leave a Reply

