Slow and Steady Wins the Race

The Road Back

on March 10, 2009

I have been trying to be nice to my body the past few days.  On Sunday I took a nice long walk pushing Ian in the stroller and scoped out some new running routes in my neighborhood.  I even did some strength training on Sunday night.  Yesterday I just rode the bike at home after work.  Today was the test to see how well my muscle held up while running again.  I did some research on the internet after my last blog to try and figure out which muscle is hurting me and I think I have narrowed it down to the gracilis muscle.  I have never heard of it either.

Anyway, I put on my new running shorts (which I don’t like because they are way too short and ride up constantly) and headed out to run around the office park.  It is in the low 60’s right now so it was a bit chilly to start off, but I warmed up quickly and was really happy that I did not have pants on.  My plan for the day was to run for a while and then walk for a minute and then pick up running again.  I wasn’t using an exact timing method like run 5 minutes/walk a minute cause I just don’t want to get into that yet.  I figured I would run for a couple songs and then walk a minute.  Overall this method worked out pretty good.  My leg wasn’t hurting at all at the 1 mile mark and still felt pretty good at about 1.75 miles in.  When I hit mile 2 though it was starting to get achy.  At that point I decided to have shorter running spurts and add in a little more walking to get me back to the office.  As I write this now my thigh is throbbing a bit and I really need to ice it.  I think I am making progress though since in total I ran about 2.5 miles with my total workout being about 3 miles when you add in warm up and cool down.

I am going to try to keep the running easy and light until I am running pain free.  Once I get to that point I hope to start the Jeff Galloway training program for the half-marathon.  I also plan on running the Cary Road Race in April.  I was thinking of trying for the 10K but that just isn’t realistic at this point.  I should be able to do the 5K with no problem though *fingers crossed*.

One response to “The Road Back

  1. gabrielle says:

    That sounds like a good plan! And I have learned something new today- I had never heard of that muscle, either.

    Amen on the running shorts- all mine are waaaay too short to feel comfy in, at least right now. I bought some running skirts last year, which are short enough to be really comfy, but provide more coverage in the upper thigh region than actual running shorts. They also have a built in set of undershorts, so you don’t have to worry about the wind blowing up your skirt.

Leave a Reply

