Slow and Steady Wins the Race

Ready for the race and new goals…

on February 25, 2009

I am taking it easy this week and saving my strength for Saturday.  I went on my last run before the race today.  My total distance today with warm-up and cool down was 3.14 miles which is kinda funny cause I didn’t plan that.  I ran about 2.5 miles today with a couple of 1 minute walk breaks in there.  The interesting thing is that the 2.5 miles still took me 32 minutes with the walking.  Just goes to show that the Galloway method is a good one.  I did feel like I had more energy at the end of the 2.5 miles today than I did the first time I ran the whole thing.  The 1 minute recovery really does help you conserve your energy.  I think I will incorporate a couple walk breaks into my 5K on Saturday.

I have started to consider training for the OBX half-marathon on November 8th.  I need a new goal now that I am about to complete my first 5K and the half-marathon is pretty appealing for several reasons:  

  1. I have plenty of time to train
  2. It is in the Outer Banks, which I have never been to even though I have lived in this state since 1980.  Sad, I know.
  3. We can plan a family vacation around the event and we need one!
  4. My friend Gabby is training for the full marathon and I would love to give her some company :).
  5. The run itself would just be really freakin’ cool cause you get to run over the Washington-Baum bridge.

I honestly can’t believe that I am considering trying to run 13.1 miles.  However, I never thought I could run 3.1 miles and yet here I am.

I will also probably run the Cary Road Race, but I haven’t decided if I want to do another 5K or if I want to try for the 10K.  That race is at the beginning of April and I just don’t know if I can double my distance in such a short amount of time.  I will have to look at some 10k training programs.  So, Gabby you will probably have me with ya for 3 out of your 4 races this year!  

Anyone know of a good 10k training program?

One response to “Ready for the race and new goals…

  1. gabrielle says:

    Wooooo Hooooo! You can totally do the OBX half-marathon, I know it. It’s also supposed to be very walker-friendly, so you don’t have to worry about actually running the whole 13.1. And the BRIDGE! That’s my training motto: Gotta beat the bridge (for the marathon, that’s a 16 min/mi pace for the whole thing, which is doable.) And the Outer Banks is really lovely and a great place to vacation (I’m less than 2 hrs away). And of course, I would love to have you there! 🙂

    Can’t wait for Saturday! Fingers crossed that it doesn’t rain…

Leave a Reply

