Slow and Steady Wins the Race

Week 7, Day 3

on February 15, 2009

I went over to the park today to run on the track around the baseball fields.  The loop is a 1/2 mile and my original goal was to try and run 3 miles today.  That didn’t work out so well.  I walked for 1 lap to warm up and then started my run.  Right off the bat I was feeling very sluggish.  After the first lap though I was starting to get a rhythm but I knew I wasn’t going to run 3 miles.  According to the couch to 5K program I should be running 25 minutes straight and/or 2.5 miles.  I thought about going to for the 2.5 miles, but when I finished 1.5 miles I knew I didn’t have 2 more laps in me.  So, I pushed the last lap and did 2 miles today.  My total running time was right at about 25 minutes.  I am doing pretty good on the time part of the program, but don’t have the distance yet.  Next week is running 28 minutes straight and/or 2.75 miles.  I think I will start off next week trying to run for time and then use my weekend run to try and run for distance and walk if I have to just to see how long it takes.  

The 5K is fast approaching.  I am not sure if I am going to be able to add 1.1 miles to my distance in 2 weeks.  I have been hoping that I would be able to run the whole 3.1 miles by the time the 5K rolled around.  I think I will have a better idea if that is realistic by next weekend.

One response to “Week 7, Day 3

  1. poeticruse says:

    Hi Ann!

    Your post popped as a related post to one of mine, so I peeked over to see. Then I thought I’d comment, because I realized something amazing when I read the sidebar, and looked at the dates.

    This post is from February 2009. Must seem like an eternity ago. And you were straining to run 3.1 miles during your couch to 5k training.

    And apparently, you just ran a Marathon. A year and a half after struggling through 2 miles in the park. I just thought you should look back, and celebrate that, and use that huge progress to motivate you to your next goal, even if that’s just getting out and running one day at a time.

    ~Don

Leave a Reply

